Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-11-06 - 8:48 a.m.
Scary election, scary toilet

Well, well, well. Elections are over and the Rs are in charge of everything now. I don't think I like that. We have an icky, smarmy Repub congressman who I just DESPISE. In fact, I've never heard anyone I know say anything positive about him. But, for some reason, he won handily. This is a representative who doesn't represent ME one iota. He wanted to restrict funds to the local campus of a university because they were staging "Corpus Christi". He's most definitely NOT pro choice.

Are my ovaries even going to be my own for much longer?

Now really, I don't want to sound paranoid, but these elections have greater ramifications than just the next few years. Judicial appointments, f'rinstance. I won't be surprised to see Roe V Wade overturned. And that's too damn bad. Because without the ability to decide if and when we will reproduce, women cannot be equal citizens. I know, some folks think that's some kind of radical baby killer talk. I don't LIKE abortions. I wish they weren't needed. But to make them illegal isn't going to stop them. A pregnant woman who is desperate to be non pregnant will not give up that quest because it's illegal. Rich women will be able to have the contacts to get them done safely, poor women....won't. My view is that if you believe abortion is wrong, then don't have one. But how DARE you tell other women what choice they must make? How DARE you?

So. Anyway. Right now, we're waiting for the plumber to call. The Scary Toilet is being scarier, and I want it fixed NOW. Actually, the plumber is going to work at Husband's house tomorrow, fixing up the decrepit bathroom. However, we need him here TODAY. Scary Toilet is filling to the rim before it flushes...which is a new development. Something ain't right. Husband asked about it when he talked to plumber yesterday, and the plumber said to try plunging or augering. We plunged. Nothing. Time to call in the professional. Our plumber is great, does good work, reasonably priced, but he's sometimes hard to get a hold of.

Then tomorrow, the electrician comes, to install a couple of new outlets, one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom, so we can use the towel warmer my sister got us as a wedding gift.

Work is the usual insanity. Like toddlers demanding constant attention. It's nuts.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here