Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-10-27 - 9:28 p.m.
Weekend wrapup

Fund drive is over. Thank diety. We didn't make the goal, but we were darn close, so I think it'll be ok. Good god was that grueling. Just hellish. I about flipped out during my first visit to work yesterday. Just too much shit to do, and that damn drive finally got to me, I guess.

The whole Daylight Saving Time thing was a HUGE pain for us, even though we live in one of two (or is it three?) states that doesn't observe it. (the morons) It's a pain because by NOT changing time twice a year, we actually ARE the ones who change, relative to the rest of the world. I mean, if you're in, say, DC, and you're a fan of A & E's Biography, it's on at 8 each night, all year long. Not here. It's on at 7 in the summer, and at 8 in the winter. Well, we do a TON of programming that comes from satellite. So twice a year, we have to reset the computer that controls our satellite stuff, and reset the times on our recording lists, so we get the right stuff at the right time. It's a HUGE pain in the butt, and a WONDERFUL opportunity to fuck stuff up. I haven't received any calls today, so perhaps things aren't FUBARed.

I would LOVE for Indiana to observe DST in the summer. WOULD ADORE it. I'd love to come home from work at 6:30 in the evening and know that if I wanted to take a walk after dinner, it would still be light out. But we're such a bassakwards place sometimes. It's some bizzare matter of pride that we don't change times. Periodically, the subject comes up in the legislature, and you should see the letters to the editor...they don't even make any LOGICAL sense. The farm lobby is big...they keep our time the way it is.....like we're the only state with a lot of agriculture. Ha. I seem to remember living in Kansas, and THEY observe DST just fine. I don't remember hearing their farmers complain about it.

Anyway.

Husband and I went to the maul today. Wooo. We took back some wedding gifts (duplicates) and bought some good knives we'd had on our registry, but didn't get. (I didn't think we would...but thought I'd put them on there anyway) They're Henckles knives, and they are WONDERFUL. My dad has a set of similar knives, and they make SUCH a difference in preparing food. Ya wouldn't think so, but they do.

OK, here's where I sound spoiled and bridezilla-y. You've been warned. Many of our gifts were right there at the department store...and, well, it was hard not to notice how much they were. Let's just say lots of people made it a 20-30 dollar experience. WAAAAIIIT. Before you tell me I'm a horrible selfish person, let me just say I don't really LIKE the part of me that noticed that, and I know it's not about the gifts, and I know it's about the thought, and I know it's crass to even THINK about how much something cost. But I'm human, and I think most humans in the same position would have a moment of "hm".

And that's all it is. Really. Some people were so generous we couldn't believe it. We ended up with more than two hundred dollars in Target cards. One couple gave us a one hundred dollar Pier One card. My cousin who was IN the wedding, who traveled from the east coast with her fiance (now husband)to be with us gave us a hundred bucks in cash. My aunt and uncle gave us TWO hand made pottery bowls (GORGEOUS!), a place setting of dishes, AND the pasta serving dish AND EIGHT pasta dishes we'd registered for. Overall, we were totally blessed. And we know it. But the teeny tiny me sometimes needs to be teeny tiny.

OK--so...where were we? OH, after the knives, we went to Sears and bought a stove. Wheeee. (I think that was with some wedding money) The stove in this house is old. Older than I am, I think, It says "Frigidaire, a division of General Motors" on it. I don't think that's been true since some time in the 70s. It still works, but I scorch everything I cook...and I fail to believe that's MY fault.... Also, the oven sucks, and doesn't cook well at all. So next Saturday, I'll have no excuse for scorched rice and undercooked pies. I can't wait.

And after the stove, I headed into Bath and Body Works. And spent 35 bucks. On soap. Unreal.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here