Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-09-17 - 11:14 p.m.
Foiled by Formula One

Just when I thought everything was getting under control, that the duckies were lining up in a row....kaboom.

Formula One racing screws me.

We're going on a cruise for our honeymoon. We sail on Monday the 30th, two days after the wedding. Because, despite living in the second largest city in the state, you can't actually get anywhere from our airport, we are leaving from Indy, which is two to two and a half hours away. At 7:30 in the morning. Well, there is NO WAY I want to get up in the middle of the fucking night in order to be at the airport 2 hours early so I can be frisked and x rayed and have my underwear fondled. We figured, no problem, we'll grab a room at an airport hotel.

There are none. There are no fucking hotel rooms at the airport, and any available rooms in the city are at highway robbery rates. I will be good and god damned if I spend 300 bucks for a room at a fucking Comfort Inn. I have stayed at REAL Fancy Hotels for less. Talk about the free market economy and supply and demand. It's immoral, what they are charging. Those rooms probably go for 60 bucks in a normal week.

So. There we are. I am pissed. And we used a travel agent...aren't they supposed to help their clients avoid things like this? Fuck fuck fuck. Now we're going to have to haul our asses down there in the middle of the goddamn night.

I was dreading the flying, anyway. I'm not afraid of the plane crashing or anything like that, I just consider flying to be far more hassle than it's worth. And we didn't even get a direct flight. We go from Indy to Charlotte to Tampa. I mean, jesus. And the flight leaves at 7:30 in the morning, which for me is too early. My IBS will be acting up to beat the band, so I will be miserable and panic stricken for much of that little journyy. I hate the crush of people when flying, the lines, the hurry up and wait, the inevitable rush to make a connecting flight, because the incoming flight ALWAYS uses a gate that is as far from the departing flight's gate as possible. And with the new security stuff....god, just stick needles in my eyes. (When my parents came home from a cruise this winter, their flights were so delayed, fucked up, and rerouted that it took them 16 hours to get back. It only takes 17 if you drive)

I'm actually trying to figure out how we can drive it. I am insane.

In other news.....got an interesting and very cool package from my aunt (dad's sister) yesterday. In it was a necklace that belonged to my great grandmother's sister, a medal/pin my grandmother was awarded for scholarship in high school, and my great grandmother's engagement ring. Totally surprised by this stuff. I am going to wear the ring as my "something old" on my wedding day.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here