Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-09-12 - 8:51 a.m.
Finally, September 12

The following opinon may not be very popular or "acceptable", but it's mine.

I'm sick of the whole 9/11 as marketing vehicle/team sport. Being in media, yesterday was about all I could bear. Yes, we should mark the one year anniversary.....traditionally the END of a mourning period. But my lord. The hype. The ratings grabbers. The marketing opportunities. ABC news had some blurb about the widows having "the courage to go on". Hello? YOU HAVE NO CHOICE. That's the thing about life. Bad shit happens, even REALLY bad shit, and you go on. Your other choice is to kill yourself, and most people don't find that a viable option. Some do.

Here's where my heart of stone comes in. I'm sick of hearing about the widows and orphans, and I'm even MORE sick of groups of them clamoring for financial compensation. Just because you had a TERRIBLE tragedy befall you doesn't mean you're somehow entitled to never have a financial worry again. This was awful, it really was. But the way some people are making a career out of being a victim of the tragedy just makes me more and more cynical. (a hard thing to do) I'm not totally without empathy, but sheesh. And then I feel badly that I don't feel worse. I cried once when it happened, but I can't be in mourning the way it seems I am expected to be. I just can't.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here