Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-09-01 - 10:52 p.m.
Travellin'

Just back from a trip to NE OH to visit relatives. A cousin and her husband have a cookout/bonfire, I guess every summer, since this was billed as the "second annual". Lots of fun. They have a GREAT house for that sort of thing...wooded lot, plenty of room for a nice bonfire, a new deck for folks to sit on and chat....and yesterday's weather was PERFECT. Could not have ordered up a better day. Well worth the 8 hours round trip.

I've said before...I really dig my family. We just have such fun getting together, and it makes me glad that we still get together now that the cousins have all grown up. I had a "moment" last night....shows what a big fat sap I really am. I came back from the house, and was walking back toward the bonfire. As I approached, I could see everyone gathered around....roasting marshmallows, eating popcorn, just sitting around, talking and laughing....music playing. And I almost cried. It was just such....a MOMENT. It's like at the end of a movie or tv show, when the camera pulls away, showing people enjoying each other's company, having a good time. It was just really nice....and for whatever reason, it touched me.

Now we're home, and I'm antsy. A little grouchy...but I get that way after I get home from a family visit. Neither of us has to work tomorrow, thank goodness, so I'm not sure what we're going to do. As of now, I plan to be ambitious and cook. I will at least make some spaghetti sauce, and freeze a bunch of it so I can have it ready for quick dinners. If I'm REALLY on the ball, I'll make up a meatloaf that we can have Tuesday. But I'm not sure I'll be that with it.

My house is frustrating me. My house ALWAYS frustrates me, especially when I've been to a party at someone else's. It just seems like it'll never be cleaned and organized and "company ready". I hate that I'm not hostessy, that entertaining just doesn't come naturally to me. I would love to be able to open my home and have people over, and not feel self conscious that I live in an old house with one bathroom and a tiny yard. That stuff shouldn't matter.

Replies to the invitations are still coming in. They are "due" on the 9th. It amazes me that we can send RSVP cards WITH the dang stamps, and some people STILL can't manage to say yes or no and put it in the mail. I'm beginning to get a little worried about the wedding details...about seating charts and kids, etc, etc. The kid thing is turning...interesting. My cousin and her partner are bringing their own sitter for their kid. It's looking like there will be only one child needing a sitter. And I'm not sure if I should email The Angry Bridesmaid to tell her that every kid except one is coming with its own sitter, and if she'd like to change her mind, that's fine, since it would be her boys with one other little girl in the kids' room. Or should I leave it alone? My only concern is that there WILL be kids at the ceremony, and she may misunderstand and think I'm "allowing" those kids and not hers. From the sound of things, the parents who are coming are bringing their kids to the ceremony, then stowing them with a sitter for the evening. But there's just so much....crap with the Angry Bridesmaid. There's me being petty and not wanting to "lose" to her, having her think she's "won" by browbeating me into acquiescing. OTOH, I DO want to let her know what's happening, so she doesn't think I'm being intentionally bitchy. So I don't know. I think I will ask Matron Of Honor J her opinion of the whole thing.

Tried to do a little work with my Creative Memories stuff that was a gift from Beloved's sister. First of all...it was frustrating for me. I'm just not...girly in that way. The other thing is, I can sure figure out how the consultants make their money. I'm trying to do a simple page when I start thinking "Hmmm...I could sure use a fancy-shape paper cutter. And how DO you make the photos round? And I sure could use some fancy pens....."

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here