Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-08-29 - 8:54 a.m.
Oy Vey

So last night, I wrote a nice, long detailed entry about my not so wonderful day at work.

Then I clicked "done" and it disappeared. Dead server, it seems.

ARRRGHHH. Icing on the cake of my day.

I came home from work yesterday feeling like I'd been beaten up. Everything hurt. Even my boss said he felt like yesterday was just one big battle.

As I was driving in, I heard one of our breaks, and instead of local content, it was just network music. This told me that our audiovault had broken down. Again.

So I get to work, and before my butt even hits my chair, Tiny Shorts is following me around, barking. "We NEED engineers down here. We don't NEEEEEED more sales people down at the other end." I'm not sure what he wants engineers to DO, exactly....sit around and wait for something to break? And if we don't have sales people, where do we get the money to pay these engineers?

Anyway....there's an engineer in the building (but not one who has worked on the problem), everyone is running around like idiots....for some reason, my cow orkers seem to think that the angrier and more freaked out they get in a crisis, the faster and better the resolution. I want to slap them.

So we get the cheif engineer in, and he does some rebooting. And things work again. You know why? Because when the cow orkers were describing the problem, they had so little grasp of the situation that they were rebooting THE WRONG SERVER.

/Debra Barone/IDIOTS/Debra Barone/

The. Wrong. Server. I truly am the smartest kid in Special Ed at that place.

The upshot is that we're getting someone in from BE (the company that makes audiovault) to both fix our problems and give us a mini seminar on using it in the most efficient way. There's also a chance that we may get a newer system to replace our old system....that will be good, because then both systems will be more compatible. I just want this daily crisis thing to END.

AND...it gets better. Crisis hit, and there was staff meeting. Because of the crisis, Drama Queen was unable to put on her noon show, since it's all in the vault. So TS came up with a tape for her to run, problem solved. Apparently not. She was dithering all over the meeting about how to make it work. It was a 59 minute tape that needed to fill a 60 minute space. Do the math. Even I can do the math. I simply said, while she was mid dither, "you're makind this harder than it needs to be". "I am not" she said, and went down the hall.

After the meeting, she calls me into a studio and tells me how "angry" she was by my remark. She felt "patronized" and "demeaned". WTF?? First of all, that was NOT my intention. For all my grouchiness in my journal, I am NOT a mean person IRL. (I think that's why I'm such a grouch here.) I apologized for hurting her feelings. But the more I think about it....I just get madder. I think she over reacted. I asked a coworker who was at the meeting if she remember the incident, and she said she thought it was "banter". That's what it was. I was TRYING to be helpful, and explain that, if she would just take a step back, she'd see that her task was easy, and she shouldn't get so upset about it.

But Drama Queen gets upset about everything. Everything is about her. I've never met anyone with such an ability to make herself the focus of any gathering. And I'm kind of resentful that I deal with constant interruptions by her, constant drama, and SHE demands an apology from ME because for a brief moment in time, SHE wasn't feeling validated or woodgie cooed enough. Or something.

So I got home last night, we had leftovers for dinner, and I went upstairs and spent the whole night on the computer. I bet Beloved is REALLY looking forward to this married life thing.....

Ah well. Need to get showered and head back to prison. My 14 hour pass is expiring.....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here