Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-08-25 - 6:45 p.m.
"I don't want to hear this"

My mother is officially weird. She called this afternoon, and asked how things were going. We chatted about wedding stuff, about having a tasting for the food at the reception, general stuff. Now, since Beloved moved in last week, moving stuff has pretty much been all we've been up to. I said something about him putting together some shelves in the basement, and how there was stuff everywhere, and I was hoping we'd be able to find a place for it, etc. I said something like "well, it's definitely something to adjust to", and mom laughed and said "oh, you'll have lots more adjusting to do". Then I said something about how Beloved is actually pretty easy to live with, and I don't even hear him in the mornings, etc. Her reply "I don't really want to hear this".

I am thirty five years old, and we will be married in 34 days. And my mother still can't wrap her mind around me living with him. For a month. My mother is not some pious religious person. In fact, Beloved's parents are QUITE devout, and I think they would probably not be as freaky about it as she is. (They had to deal with it when he lived with his ex....) She just thinks living together is wrong. And I don't get it, because she's usually quite open minded and tolerant about things. But this issue....wow. When she said she didn't want to talk about it, I said "ok. can I talk about it after we're married?" and she laughed. But on this subject, she's a freak. As for the argument that there's no committment to keep him here...(which I think is SO lame in our case)he and I joked that he's not gonna be moving out on a whim because all his crap is here now.

Have two bookshelves up in the basement. They look good. We'll need another one, then we'll have a "wall" created by bookshelves. We've used an old closet unit to create another "wall", and once we get a screen or some other kind of divider up to wall off the mechanical stuff, we'll have the basement looking as good as a basement that was originally designed as a coal cellar can look.

I had a broken pipe a couple of winters ago....flooded the whole place. Insurance paid for new paneling and carpet, and it ended up looking WAY nicer than it did when I bought it. It's got some light pecan paneling (old stuff was that horrible 70's white stuff), and nice tan berber carpet. The guy who put in the paneling is a furniture maker in his spare time, so all the corners are mitered....he finished the inside of the window wells, and put molding around them....he really did a nice job. The only "problem" in making it a usable room is that it isn't closed off in any way from the "mechanicals". So there you are in the "nice" part of the basement, looking at the water heater and furnace. Bleah. Building walls isn't really practical. But I think the bookshelf treatment is going to work well. The units we bought at Target look nice, and having them lined up makes it look like built-ins along the wall. (OK, so they ARE the wall) Beloved's put his sofa and entertainment center down there, and they look nice...we've hooked up the cable and bought a phone, and Beloved has been going down there to watch tv a little bit already. The biggest drawback is that the bathroom is two floors up....

Well, I should start working on dinner soon. Steak on the grill, salad (with tomatoes I managed to save from the groundhog), and corn. YUM.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here