Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-08-22 - 10:27 p.m.
Electronics hell

I'm am depressed for no good reason.

Well, my period started, so the emotions are a little.....volatile.

Nothing electronic in my life is working well right now. It's amazing. We're having all sorts of problems with the various broadcast computers at work..and I, being the smartest person in the dumb class, has to figure out how to get out of these messes. We've done ok, actually, with the help of Tiny Shorts on recordings, making sure we're backing stuff up on DAT. Backing things up on tape usually ensures that the computer will work flawlessly.

Today, ATC is playing along, when all of a sudden.....it's not. FUUUUUUCK. What can be wrong? Well, this time, it turns out that it's NOT us. NPR had a massive power failure. All the satellite tuners went down, the show went off the air....I would hate to be THEIR tech guys. I was just busy dancing around the station chanting "It wasn't our faauuuult, it wasn't our fauuuulllt", because we've had such a crappy week.

And at home...sheesh. Got digital cable installed yesterday. It has a channel guide at the bottom of the screen when you change channels. Damn thing spins around like some kind of demented slot machine every time you change channels. I don't think that's how it's supposed to work....I called them today about it, and they said they'd "send a signal to the box, that should fix it."

It was the cable company. It didn't fix it. ARGH. Let's not forget the other TVs that are supposed to have cable service...the one in the bedroom has a lousy picture and only gets twenty five or so channels. No TVLand, no A&E. So I gotta call about that. And the high speed cable internet? Not for another 24-48 hours. Called LAST night to have the modem activated. Couldn't do it, since I'd had a service change...the paperwork hadn't been filed, yadda yadda, blah blah. Fine. I called tonight and gave the lady all the poop, and she said 24-48 hours, whenever the paperwork got filed. "How will I know when it's working?" "You'll be able to go online".

Well DUH. We've got this modem all set up, and our little network box, and we're ready to go. Anytime the cable company wants to get around to it. Now I'm remembering why I got a dish.

Oh. The dish. Had to call and cancel that. Talk about high pressure. Sheesh. Told him I was having reception problems. "Well, you never called us." "Actually, I did, and was told to call someone in town. I did that, and they told me my dish needed to be moved to the tune of a hundred bucks. So I lived with it for awhile. I want to be done with it now." "But what if we gave you a free service call and a free month's subscription?" AAAAARRRGH. Just cancel the fucking thing!

Hmm. Now I've managed to mess up the update of my bridal registry. How on EARTH could I do that? I sure did it. We've been SO fortunate....wedding gifts have been coming in, and we're doing SO well on our dishes. My aunt and uncle sent us a pasta serving dish AND eight pasta plates this week. SO generous. I'm trying to update things, and I am not doing too well. I think I have permanantly messed up the computer. We're going to end up with forty place settings or something.... You'd think I could just change numbers or zero things out or something, but I can't....

Getting used to this cohabitating thing. Probably NOT the best thing to begin the week of my period. I'm just sayin'.... Seriously, Beloved is really easy to live with. I'm freaking out over being June Cleaver. Dinner is a real problem for me. I think we should have a proper dinner every night...you know, food that we actually cook. Last night I made stroganoff, and we had salad, and it was great. We also didn't eat until 8:30. Thank just won't do. We get home kind of late...we need to come up with a better dinner solution.

I guess that's it for now. Let's hope the full moon passes and things get better as the new moon spins into place. Or whatever it does.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here