Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-08-15 - 8:36 a.m.
groundhogs and idiot divas

The fucking groundhog has now pushed over my plants. I am so pissed. I asked Beloved to build a chicken wire coop for the tomatoes, but I fear it may be too late. I may just have to harvest what's left and let them ripen inside.

I live in the CITY, fer pete's sake...what the hell is this CREATURE doing hanging around? I know, he's eating people's gardens. Quite a gig he's got going. The other groundhogs are jealous.

Was busy, busy at work yesterday. It never helps to start the day with a 90 minute staff meeting. After about 45 minutes, I'm just ready to scream. Then for the rest of the day, we are all playing catch up, because we wasted almost 2 hours in a pointless meeting in which nothing was accomplished.

The Diva is an idiot. I don't want her touching the production computer. I just don't. At least Tiny Shorts know when he's been beaten by the machine, and stops. She just plunges ahead and keeps fucking things up. Yesterday I came in and didn't even SIT DOWN yet (I HATE this, and bunches of people where I work love to ambush people as soon as they get in the door....) when I heard Diva "Oh colz, knower off all things...." That little phrase pisses me off. It pisses me off because I know she means it in a snarky way. Because she's never genuinely nice to anyone. Anyway....she had somehow changed a preference on Pro Tools and had kind of mad it impossible to play back her regions. Brain trust thought it was the keyboard (you start and stop playback with the space bar), so she swapped keyboards. Uh. Yeah. GREAT deduction. Idiot. I didn't have time to fix the problem (or find it, since I had no clue what it was), because we had staff meeting. After the meeting, I spent 20+ minutes dinking around with the program, before I found the preference she had changed. Of course, she says she NEVER hit shift/slash at the same time.... When I poked my head in the studio to tell her I'd fixed it, she was on the phone with the engineer, who also had no idea how to fix it. Of course, he was limited by the information he was presented, and when diva presents computer info, it usually sounds like this: "Well, I was working along, and everything was happy, la la la, when all of a sudden, the computer didn't like me any more, and wouldn't let me play back from where the cursor was...it would go from the front of the region to the end, and would jump, so I couldn't hear the sound. I don't know how to make it happy again."

And the sad thing is, that explanation is clearer than one she would give. She once left a message about a problem with automation that was so unclear I had NO IDEA what she was trying to tell me. None. She is so completely non technical, it amazes me. My in their 60s parents have a better grasp of this stuff. And the biggest part of her problem is that she won't say "wow,

I don't understand.", she'll just keep clicking until she fucks something up but good.

The wedding nightmares have begun. Missing the time, dirty dress, you name it, I'm dreaming it. Ugh.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here