Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-08-08 - 9:02 p.m.
Life goes on

The wedding invitation replies are coming in....VERY exciting. So far, we've got 67 coming and 6 not. Once in awhile, someone writes a little note on the reply card, which is cool.

The Angry Bridesmaid is still angry, I am sure. And I guess that is too bad. I talked to a friend of ours...the three of us have been friends since high school. It seems that my "no kids wedding" has turned into "Colz hates my children". No more or less than I hate any children....that's not why they aren't invited. NO KIDS are invited.

Oh. But I've been down this road already, haven't I? Turns out that Mutual Friend also offered HER childcare arrangments to Angry Bridesmaid. (as in..."the boys can go with my girls to my sisters' for the evening")That didn't work, either. So it is OBVIOUSLY about something other than "can't leave kids with strange sitter". I still haven't replied to her latest snarky missive, and I need to do so.

But as I've said before, I'm paranoid that I am going to have to fight this battle over and over again, and/or that people are just going to bring their kids, assuming "it'll be all right".

I did call a potential babysitter this evening, and she seems like a nice girl...not a surly teen at all, and she seemed....confident....speaking to and "old person" like me. She will call me tomorrow, and with any luck, I can work this babysitting thing out.

Or, we can just go with our original plan, bailing drunks out of the county lockup to come watch the little angels. OK, not really, but from the way Angry was acting, you'd think that was our plan.

Work has been going ok...a couple of crises here and there, but that's normal. We seem to have a dying hard drive on the computer that keeps us connected with NPR, and that is a Very Bad Thing. I got in touch with some tech guy at NPR...if we can get a formatted hard drive for back up, we should be in ok shape if/when the other one dies. If we DON'T have a backup drive, we will be so screwed that the light from screwed will take a hundred years to reach us. Still haven't had my Salary Talk with the boss yet, though as I understand it, he's kind of.....distracted this week. That letter co-worker sent to board members was an amazingly cowardly act. All those things he found "unacceptable", but he wouldn't speak up when he was here. Cowardly, cowardly, cowardly. And to throw a shit bomb the rest of us have to clean up. Tsk tsk. And, may I say, NOT a smart move for a guy who has had ONE job in his career. There goes that letter of reference.

So, thus far, I seem to have been able to deal with my new responsibilities. And I am LOVING IT when I get to tell people I'm not the news director any more! "Go bother someone else".

My shower is this Saturday....I am SO excited...ALL my aunties are coming! They are all from out of town, and they are ALL coming. How cool is that? And most of the uncles will be coming, which is even cooler....I just love my family, and love it when we can get together. My dad is planning on taking The Menfolk to a nearby bar and grill so they can have lunch and Man Talk. Beloved and his dad will probably be going, which I think will be nice....that way he can get to know some of my....effusive... family before the wedding.

I am so stressed out and tired. I think I'm over Angry Bridesmaid, and then it comes up again, and I get mad again. I just....never thought something like this would happen to me.....the woman who is trying SO hard to be Reasonable Bride.

OH well....as Ricky Nelson sang..."Ya can't please everyone, so ya, got to please yourself"

Toodles and Loo

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here