Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-31 - 8:21 a.m.
Freaky

OKaaaaay.

I'm a little freaked out.

Maybe a lot.

Lemme explain.

You know architect Michael Graves? The guy whose now known for the cool housewares at Target? Well, he designed two homes in my city, one of which, The Snyderman (Yes, Dr Nancy Snyderman's parents), was practically in the neighborhood where I grew up. It hasn't been lived in for years, since the Snydermans moved (and they and my parents still live in the same neighborhood). Much of the land surrounding it has been cleared for McHouses, and the Snyderman WAS going to be torn down. However, a commission was formed to help save it, and preservation efforts were underway.

Last night, I had a dream about the house. Just a little vignette, that left me with the feeling of "huh. I wonder if there's any more news on preservation." (This was also a story our station followed)

I checked the online version of the morning paper, and the damn house BURNED DOWN LAST NIGHT.

Whaaaa? Why would I have that dream? Is it just coincidence? But how could it be? It's not like having a flying dream or a teeth dream, or a naked in a crowd dream. It was a specific house. And NOT something I've ever dreamt of before. I've never even been in the house.

I'm a little freaked.

In other news, I'm trying to figure out how to negotiate the best money possible with my new title and responsiblities. The boss has already given me the "this is a tough budget year" speech. But I've taken MOST of my old job, and MOST of departing employee's job, and made about a job and a half. I deserve more than a frickin 5% raise. He's not filling that position. But that position IS in the budget. So he could give me 25% as an increase and still come out way ahead. I just hate the whole bargaining stuff. And I hate how we are about jobs and money. People work for money. We want to know what a job pays. But most job listings don't say, and we aren't supposed to talk about it in interviews. It's only when the interviewer deigns to mention money that we're allowed to know the deep dark secret. Weird.

So...my dad gave me a pep talk and told me it's like buying a car...I will get screwed, I just have to decided how much I'm comfortable with.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here