Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-22 - 8:50 a.m.
Monday ramblings

Ugh. Monday.

I did end up saying something to Beloved about his quick defense of Evil Troll Bitch Ex GF. It was light and not pissed, and I just said "in the future, you might want to consider that doing that is probably NOT your wisest move". He looked at me and said "yeah. as soon as I said it I realized I had said a dumb thing".

So. That was good.

I really don't know why I am so psycho about this, why my insecurity just grabs hold and makes me think, well, insecure things. I must admit, with Evil Troll, I would like it if he said mean and nasty things about her, instead of being nice when he sees her. Sigh. Whatever. I can't really even discuss it with him any more, because there's no way to do so without me coming off as pathetically obsessed. Which I am beginning to think I am. It really bothers me that this ONE PERSON can have such an effect on me, fucking up much of my weekend. I was watching the Real World Reunion this weekend, and they showed this clip where one of the the RWers was yelling at another over her GF, and I was thinking "maaaan, I wish I could do that. I wish I could say to Evil Troll "hey, Evil Troll, quit playing fucking games, quit touching him, quit ignoring me and being a bitch, because that's what you are, and I am not having it any more. Play games somewhere else"."

But I could never do that.

In other news, my head is back to exploding at the fascist wedding site. (I know, why do I go there? Some stuff is good and helpful, that's why) There's a whole thread about not caring about etiquette. OK. Fine. But when your guests start bringing uninvited people to your wedding, or don't RSVP, or don't hold up their end of the etiquette stuff, don't be bitching on the boards about it. I've said it before...I love etiquette. It makes things EASIER, not harder (unless you were raised by wolves and have no idea about being gracious). Took me a whole five minutes to choose Beloved's tux...."The wedding is at four. What does etiquette say he wears?" Guy at shop: "This suit, or for a more formal wedding, a morning suit with a cutaway". "OK...cutaway it is". No endless agonizing, no polls on the wedding web sites "Help me pick a tux". Just...what do the rules say? Ok...we'll go with it.

Maybe it's because I don't like to be bothered with minute details. I am NOT Martha Stewart (though I suspect she follows etiquette to the T), and if I have to make a decision about the party I am hosting, lemme check the books first to see if that decision has been made for me.

I dunno...it both shocks and appalls me when I read about these people who really DON'T care about being gracious to guests. "I know four hours is a big gap between the ceremony and the reception, but I have always wanted a night time reception, and the church is only available at 11 in the morning. So if guests don't like it, too bad, it's my day. By the way, how can we tell them on the invitation that we only want cash gifts?"

No wonder this world is going to hell in a handbasket.

Well my, my. Certainly have rambled, haven't I? I'm sure there will be more, as my work day unfolds. I should be talking to the boss today about making changes to my job, etc, etc. I don't know, however, if that will do any good.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here