Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-11 - 9:00 a.m.
Flo and the Junior League meeting

Well, the big news in MY world is that Aunt Flo finally arrived this morning, A DAY LATE. For us pill takers, a day late is a thing that makes you go "Hmmmm" and "oh SHIT no, couldn't be". Because one of the wonders of the pill is almost exquisitely predictable timing. Beloved suggested that all the "excitement" and stress of the last few weeks probably messed things up. Pretty smart for a guy who admits that the whole women/hormone/period thing freaks him out. Not in an "eeeeuw" sense, but in a "wow. that's kind of mysterious" sense.

Well. Enough about THAT. Last night, I was once again reminded why groups of women annoy me. We went to see "Ya Ya Siserhood" last night. (good flick) Sitting behind us was what appeared to be a Junior League meeting.(they even laughed at a JL joke in the movie, so I'm thinking my original assessment was correct) However, they were behaving more like a slumber party. Laughing and talking and chattering....all the way through the previews and a few minutes into the opening credits. Even Beloved was growing annoyed, and his tolerance is MUCH higher than mine. My mood was growing fouler. My view of a movie theater is that when the lights go down, everyone shuts the fuck up. And I mean SILENCE. I'm really not sure I understand why people act as though being quiet in a movie is such a horrid imposition. ANYway...back to the Junior League. We couldn't help but overhear their conversations. They talk like overgrown teenagers, with lots of "like" and "I mean" thrown in there. And I heard a lot of comments about how thrilled they were to be out of the house at the movies, a night out from the kids.

God I don't want that to EVER be my life. Nor do I ever want to travel in a large pack of other females, being annoying. I sometimes feel like a failure as a female, yanno. But there's just so much girly stuff I can talk about before I get bored.

Speaking of girly stuff....this is an amusing anecdote from work regarding The Diva..... J, who is my Matron of Honor, is planning a shower for me. (we work together and she introduced Beloved and me) So J was down in my area, talking about shower plans, etc, etc. She mentioned the date, and said something about her street having a block party the following day. Well, Diva and J live on the same street (which is about a block from me...and Drama Queen lives about two blocks from THEM...freaky), and Diva came over and COMPLETELY HIJACKED the conversation. It turned into BLock Party Discussion. I ended up just grabbing my purse and going for lunch. Not in a snotty way, but it WAS one o'clock.... J had to come back later to finish talking with me. It was just SO.....Diva.....she enters the room and makes it all about her. J is going to invite the women from work to the shower. It should be interesting, to say the least. J is hosting, but my mom offered the use of her house, so it'll be at my parents' house. I hope aunties and cousins can come. That would be cool.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here