Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-07-05 - 11:42 a.m.
Sometmes, I REALLY hate my gender

I know, I am a traitor to the sisterhood. But damn, I don't like large groups of women IRL or online now any more than I did when I was a kid. Why? Because inevitably, the world turns into middle school, with woman whining that people are being "meeeeeeeaaaan".

I have once again been chastised by the fascists on a wedding web site. Did I call someone a "self absorbed, rude little Bridezilla?" Nope. Did I call someone's plans "tacky"? Nope. But apparently, I spend "too much time" in the "negative" threads.

What the fuck ever.

It really is like middle school all over again. Evidently, I don't belong because I don't "allow myself to". Okaaaay. Thanks, teach. Like I haven't heard THAT one a million times. I have been told to spend more time talking about "the postitive things, like flowers and shoes and invitations".

You know, the shit that Doesn't Really Matter, but the Bridal Industrial Complex Tries to Convince You IT DOES. There are multi page threads of people posting pictures of their SHOES, for pete's sake. And the obligatory "ooooh, those are SO cute!" reply posts.

I can't help it. I like to actually discuss issues. And yes, I think etiquette IS an issue, especially in this day of "It's MY DAY and I'll do what I WANT". These are the same women who then pull the etiquette card when their attendants, who bought dresses, threw showers, and spent time and money to travel, don't give them presents, too. "I can't BELIEVE they were SO RUDE!". They don't see the connection.

And I am the bad guy for nicely telling them to get a grip. But see, when you disagree with them, they get all pissy, and tell you not to post in "their" thread anymore. Good God. There are so many divorces because there are so many women who are developmentally arrested with the maturity level of seventh graders. And what IS it with women that they have to oooh and ahhh and over emote about everything...but only in a positive way, and only until the object of the oooing is out of earshot, where we can then say "my god, isn't that the most HIDEOUS engagement ring you have ever SEEN?!?!"

I am mildly wedding obsessed. I care about mine. I get excited about mine. I don't want to bore everyone in my life with endless discussion. That is why I head to the sites in the first place, because I figure, well, at least the people here know what the subject matter is. But I am missing the gene that allows women to talk and talk and talk and stew and stew and stew over inane crap. There are women who have PURCHASED two and three wedding gowns. Then they ask the other posters to vote on which dress. I don't know what the fuck they want from The Magic Dress. Jesus. I guess while I'm taking my wedding seriously, I'm not taking every little fucking minute detail seriously. Apparently, I should, in order to be included in Kappa Alpha Bridal.

God. Is being an outcast REALLY a life long sentence?

Now. I have to go to work. The internet is down at work. This will make my job even more annoying today. I made some negative crack about my job yesterday when we were having dinner with my parents. My mother chided my about my "attitude". Pissed me off. I said "you know, mom, I just kind of need you to...." and my dad chimed in "back off". Thank you dad. I actually told her to "chill out" at my fitting the other day. She's into micromanaging everything, and it makes me nuts. I can imagine that if I WERE an uber bride and actually gave a shit what color cocktail napkins I had, this planning thing could be ugly.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here