Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-06-27 - 8:49 a.m.
Health and Money

Okey Dokey. Here we are. One week and one day Post Op. (I swear, one day, the tooth saga WILL be over) Actually ate normal food yesterday, which was QUITE thrilling. Having the dressings changed was a snap, though I DID have A Moment when he was poking around and said "I can't find this one". Whaaaa? I said I was pretty sure I hadn't accidentally swallowed it or anything. So I go again tomorrow for another change. The Oral Sadist indicated we'd do this for about a week. That's good to know, because I was growing concerned that I was going to have to live my life never straying more than two days away from the OS's office. It's good to know that I have gone through the worst with this. Shwoo.

OTOH, there IS a down side. When one doesn't eat, as I didn't for nearly a week, one's horrible, tempramental, chronically painful gut doesn't have much to do, and so it doesn't. Well. Eat a damn can of soup and I'm in pain all over the place. Goddamn IBS. I swear, this is in fact something to wish on an enemy. Not only will they find it painful, embarassing and inconvenient, but people won't treat it as a "real" problem. It's the ideal curse! So, I'm back on the meds for THAT, trying to find some semblance of normal or something.

So. There's Colz's Health Update. Geeze. I'm not really 34 years old, I'm REALLY a 78 year old grandmother.

In other news, my parents' house is on the market. They are moving to Florida. That's kind of unnerving. Even if I am 34...er...78. Mom is SURE it won't sell, at over 300K. I maintain that it will, and she'd be surprised. What *I* can't figure out is the people who do live in their neighborhood. One house, with a 26K home theater system, is owned by a HIGH SCHOOL COACH. Whaaa? Guy down the street owns a painting company, and another owns a sewer service. (Both went into their daddies' businesses) What do real people MAKE? Cuz it must be a shitload more than Beloved and I do. And let me put it into perspective for ya, in case you live in one of those wildly expensive places. I live in a three bedroom, 1 bath, 1200 square foot house. I'm about two blocks from a GORGEOUS park. The neighborhood dates from the 1920s, and is another two blocks from the original mansions in the city. The neighbors are all people who plant flowers and send their kids out to play, and don't worry too much about bad things. In short, a nice place to live.

I bought this house 4 years ago for 53K. So, around here, a quarter of a million dollar house is....a whole lotta house. Where do the people come from who buy these things? Where are these jobs that pay a gazillion dollars? All I hear is that the economy around here is tanking. This is hardly a hi tech area....factory stuff is more like it. But there's a lotta money out there. I wish I had some of it.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here