Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-06-19 - 3:33 p.m.
Teeth are Gone

OK. I am alive. In case you were concerned. Loriville sent me a nice note about the tooth experience.....but I could have done without the part about "gaping holes"! ;)

Feel better than I thought I would, but I know I will feel worse before it is all over. I plan to make use of the Vicodin. Have already taken one, and I think I would be in WAY worse shape without it. The anesthesia was cool....they hooked me to a monitor (and my bp was freakin' 145 over 110!), then she started an IV, and I waited for something to happen. I remember them pulling one tooth, the one that was already fully erupted. "Ehhhhhhhhh" "You'll feel some pressure" "EHHHHHHHHH" "You'll feel some pressure"......then someone was putting my shoes on me and shoving me down the hall to a little couch. Beloved was there, holding my hands, when I woke up. Then they sat me up, and I promptly got the hiccups. The person in the next cubicle was laughing at me. Beloved paid for me and we got instructions on post op care. I still haven't been able to get those straight....I'm still a little addled.

After we picked up the drugs, (vicodin and some kind of mouth rinse), and Beloved bought me some magazines and another cold pack, we got some milkshakes and went home. I was hungry and needed to eat before the vicodin. I shoved as much as I could down my face (spoon, no straw), but much of it ended up going down my chin. I had no idea. That numbness thing is freaky. I had some jello earlier, and am just trying to drink enough water. The surgical sites actually look pretty good....after the bleeding stopped, I checked them out... they're all closed up and have a little stitch. No gaping holes.

The oral surgeon said I'd probably feel worse the next two days, then better over the weekend. That's cool. My plan is just to do the vocodin through the weekend, then switch over to plenty of motrin when that runs out. I don't want to become some vicodin addicted pillhead crack ho, but I really don't do pain.

And my Beloved is taking the best care of me. Made up extra cold packs before he went back to work. Bringing home ice cream. Loving me even when I have chipmunk cheeks and ice cream running down my face like some demented toddler.

I love him.

I am bummed that I didn't get to keep the teeth....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here