Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-06-12 - 8:01 a.m.
Quick update

Not much to tell. Same old same old and all that.

The work thing on Monday was ok. Drama Queen and I get along GREAT when she's not flipping out over some work thing, so we chattered like teenagers the whole way there and the whole way back. The session itself was ok. I am damn glad I only had to go to one day of it. Yikes.

Beloved and I had our second meeting with the pastor yesterday. It went well. He seemed to think our answers to the questions on his worksheet were good. I think so too. We seem to be heading into marriage with the same basic thoughts and ideas of what marriage means and why we want to be married to each other. The next session is when I get expelled from Marriage Class. The worksheet asks about children, and it asks formy feelings on the Biblical mandate that the man is the head of the household. (It's in Ephesians, but I forget which chapter) Since we're not having kids, and I'm going to be Beloved's partner, not his subordinate, the next session will be tricky.

Today after work Big Boss and I are holding a stupid meeting with volunteers. I hate these. Because all these people do is piss and moan and not respect us. Check that...MOST of our volunteers are perfectly content, I think. But there are a few that just constantly piss and moan and complain, and I'm tired of it. This is my JOB. I am a PROFESSIONAL at this, just as you were a professional when you were A Very Important Manager at A Very Important Company. So quit treating me like I'm just a voluntter who happens to put in 45 hours a week, m'kay?

There. Now do you recognize me? I'm bitching about work?

DQ and I had an intersting conversation about me and the job when we were driving back from our workshop. She pointed out that to replace me, they'd need to find someone with a very interesting skill set....which most people in radio DON'T have. I mean, I can do all the technical mumbo jumbo, and I can also program and host a classical or jazz music show, and I regularly host the news. Plus I oversee the air staff/volunteers.

So if I'm so valuable, why do I feel like dog doo?

In other wedding news, I finally hooked up with the organist. YAY! We're meeting with him on the 29th. I'm really excited about the music. I figure that because of my "career" in classical music radio, I can have wedding music that's appropriate, but not the same stuff everyone has. We went to a wedding a few weeks ago, and it seemed like the music was "generic wedding music 101". We don't want that. And the Kantor at the church, who will be doing our music, is a nice guy with a sense of humor (something that seems rare in a minister in that church). PLUS, he's probably the best organist in town, so our music will be really special.

My teeth come out in one week. I'm a skeeeered. The only good part is that I'll get to have three days off work.

How pathetic is THAT?!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here