Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-06-08 - 10:04 a.m.
This and That and Things and Stuff

I am SO happy for my friend Vox! She got engaged last night! Yay her! Go tell her congrats! But come back!

Back now? Good. Not a lot going on here. Right now, I'm trying to hold onto my sanity (a tenuous grip, that) as neighborhood kids yell and chant in a sing song way. I just determined that I prefer the sound of power tools to children's voices. Bring on the trimmer!

We went to see Beloved's family last night after work. His sister was in town for a dance thing, and she wanted to talk with us about some scrapbook stuff. She's one of those Creative Memories people. Beloved calls it a cult. The scrapbooks are really cool, and I love looking at photo albums and stuff. I'm not sure I can ever actually DO those things, but I enjoy looking at other people's. Anyhow, she wanted to know if we'd like an album as a wedding gift, and if our package with our photographer included an album. Two of his sisters do the scrapbooking, so sister S is going to talk with sister B and "set us up". I think that's a great gift, I really do. It will be fun to make our album, and we can actually start now, with some of the pre-wedding stuff. I suggested to Beloved that we just do an album for vacations when we take them. We'll see. I'm missing the Martha Stewart Gene, that's for sure. All my photos are in their envelopes from the photo shops, stuffed in shoeboxes....

Was in TERRIBLE mood yesterday. SO tired by the time I got home, had NOTHING in-law appropriate to wear for the visit...ugh. I had a mini "where the FUCK are my shoes" tantrum before we left, then I sulked in the car for twenty minutes. I feel so ugly and disgusting right now...nothing feels good on me, I just feel....eeeeuw.

(colz checks BCP pack...light goes on...AH HA...PMS!)

His parents' house was like A MILLION degrees. I thought I would faint. We went to discuss rehearsal dinner stuff. We're probably going to do it at The Golf Dome. Now, when we saw this at a bridal fair, we made fun of it. And then....we thought more about it. It's like a picnic where you don't have to worry about the weather or bugs. Kids who are there can run around and be kids. The grown ups can have a relaxed evening as well. The next day will be SO formal, we thought the informal evening might be fun. Prices seem reasonable for a sandwich and potato salad kind of thing. I overheard some of the conversation, and his dad said those dreaded words: "cash bar". AAAAAHHHHH. On the way home, I said to Beloved that MY preference would be that if we don't pay for it, we don't offer it. I don't think the invited people will be heavy drinkers, and I suggested to Beloved that perhaps he and I then just pay for beer, so there's soft drinks and beer. I understand that no set of parents is obligated to pay for ANYTHING, and that mine are being over the top generous. But there's a part of me that wants to say "geeze. My parents are paying THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS for this shindig, wouldn't you like to help out? He IS your only son".

But I would never do that. Because that is rude and Bridezilla-y. It's more a matter of wishing my parents had SOME offer of help to pay for stuff than a wish for them to pay for stuff for me/us. Does that make sense?

Encouraging news on the babysitting front..sister S mentioned that sister L said something about bringing her sister in law to help babysit. I jumped on this with "You know, we were hoping to arrange babysitting in a hospitality suite...if you want to bring your own sitters, that would be great, we could still use the suite". So it seemed like that potential sticky situation was averted. SO Yay. We'll see how it all works out.

Today...today I should do something, shouldn't I? It's a lovely day. I'm letting my weekend be ruined by a stupid work thing I have to go to out of town on Monday. The whole day with Drama Queen. (who, despite being a HUGE ass DQ, can actually be a nice and caring person, and we'll probably

enjoy our trip to and from) The worst part is a whole day with news geeks from across the state. I should really look at it in a positive way....I get out of doing my work for a day, and we'll be back in town and my day will be over earlier than on a work day.

So--back to today. We might tear out shrubs at Beloved's. I need to shop this weekend...have no good clothes to wear in warm weather. House still kind of a wreck.

Beloved was wearing my shirt when he left this morning. When I go out of town to conferences, I try to find a shirt having to do with the city I'm in that also has cats on it. You'd be surprised how easy this is. (I also like to get a piece of cat art from each city I visit. It's not tacky, really!) So he was wearing my New Orleans "jazz cats" shirt. I have no idea why...he has shirts in his drawers and in the closet. But he sure looked cute. I love when he says goodbye to me in the morning...because I'm usually asleep, and he's so damn sweet. I told him early on that I'd be mad if he didn't wake me up to say goodbye....and I just go RIGHT back to sleep, so it's not like "Oh GREAT....NOW I'm up". I dunno...it's just a very tender moment...he snuggles me, gives me a kiss, and tells me he loves me. It's just very sweet.

Ok...latah.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here