Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-05-18 - 12:09 a.m.
Thrilling Friday night

OK, so there are no in laws to be coming this weekend. I suppose that is good, as it reduces the pressure to get the house in top shape. It's also bad, because without the pressure, I may never get things in order.

I'm kind of bummed, if only because I think Beloved is being dissed by his parents. They were all excited that he was going to church, and joining the church (it's his everlasting soul we're talking about, don'tcha know...), and they were going to come to see him become a new member this weekend. He comes over this evening and says something about his sister is going to see his folks, so they aren't going to come here. And I'm like...heeeey.....pay attention to him, too!

I have my own issues concerning my sister, so I think I'm extra sensitive to seeing it where he's concerned. But I think it's kind of sucky....

So tonight I cleaned up the carpeted part of the basement, in preparation for the carpet cleaners. It was gross. Because I only go in the basement to do laundry, and don't spend actual time down there, there were some, uh, cat episodes that had gone unnoticed. So the carpet dudes are gonna have to use their super deodorizing stuff down there. I want to finish making the basement into a family room this weekend. Beloved keeps saying "putting up curtains to close it off is the LAST thing we should do!" I say no, we need to curtain it all off now, so at least one thing is done. The finished part of the basement is actually pretty decent. I had a flood shortly after I moved in, and insurance paid for new paneling and new carpet. So the cheesy white paneling got replaced with a nice pecan paneling, and the cheesy brown carpet got replaced with a nice beige berber. And the guy who put the paneling in...oh my. He boxed in the water meter and made a little door. He boxed in one of those ugly metal support beams. He finished the inside of those horrid basement windows with pieces of paneling and then trimmed the windows with molding.

I'm tellin' ya...the finished part looks about as nice as a 76 year old basement can look. But it looks out on the unfinished part, with the junk and the laundry, and the furnace, etc. So I want to take a page from Trading Spaces, and use cool sheets to curtain off the new family room area, so it can really look cool and homey.

Beloved vacuumed upstairs, and did an awesome job. Really...he did better in the corners than I do. God but I hate vacuuming stairs.

Can't wait to have the rugs all clean, and the cat smell gone.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here