Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-05-12 - 10:39 p.m.
Mother's Day

Survived another Hallmark Holiday. Visited BOTH sets of parents today. Whew.

Despite the fact that I have great parents, and we've mostly always gotten along well, (except when I was 14-17), I hate Mother's Day and Father's Day. With Mother's Day, I especially hate how corporate America has tried to make it into another Extravagent Gift Giving Day. Have you SEEN the jewelry store ads? IMO, a person should appreciate one's own mother, period. Why are husbands supposed to make a big to do over their wives? Yes, I know being a mother is hard work, blah blah blah, but I still maintain that we should all be appreciating our own moms and moms in law, and that's it. Just because a woman is a mother doesn't mean we're all supposed to make a big deal over it.

Or something. You'll have to forgive me on the mom thing....I'm a little over done on the recent spate of mom related stuff in the media. I heard Lisa Belkin on the Diane Rehm show this week, and wanted to throw up. Yes, being a mother is hard work. Yes, mothers are rushed and frantic and stressed out. (Um. Hello? Who isn't?) And while baby boomer mothers are incredible navel gazers about the whole mom thing (aw hell, baby boomers navel gaze about everything they do), the fact is, moms today have more support systems, more gadgets to help with kid raising, and have it generally (there are always exceptions) cushier than any moms ever have before. But they still complain about it in that conspiratorial, member of the oh so exclusive mommy club way. Whatever. Bed. Made. Lie.

Now that I've offended all the moms who happen by here....

Had a lovely visit with Beloved's parents. His mom and I really had some good conversation, which was great. I sent her a Mother's Day card, and in it I wrote "most importantly, thank you for Beloved". She said it made her cry. So we had some nice girly bonding, where I told her I tried to encourage him to do things with his family whenever I could, and that I wanted to know them all better, since they were my family now too. And I generally told her how much I love her son, and that I'm thankful for him every day. I think she liked hearing that.

Then we visited my folks...who were out to dinner when we arrived. Had a little chat, then came home. My new wedding project is trying to find something to remember my grandfather with at the wedding. All my other grandparents are accounted for....I'll be giving Beloved my maternal grandfather's wedding band, I'll be using a Hungarian floral design (from needlework given to my by my maternal grandmother) as the cake design, and I'll have some yellow flowers (my paternal grandmother's favorite color) in my bouquet. We came up with the idea of me having some kind of military insignia of my paternal grandfather's. There's a bow on my dress, and I think I could easily pin captain's bars or something like that under it. (he was career AF) I just want to have something that reminds me of each of them on my wedding day....it's not something I plan on putting in the program or anything, but I'll feel good to know I've acknowledged each of them on some way.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here