Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-05-08 - 1:14 p.m.
Lucy runs a radio station

You ever have a gut feeling about something? You just KNOW something will or won't happen? I'm pretty good about that with announcers. I just know in my doughy gut when someone's not going to show up. And I was right on this afternoon.

We have a volunteer who is a butt. He's got what one co-worker calls "short man syndrome". He's a pompous know it all who is full of solutions for our station.

He also isn't going to be asked to fill in for afternoon classical any more.

You can't just NOT show up. Hello???!!

The ENTIRE staff is out to lunch right now, for the fund drive thank you lunch. I begged off, first saying that because my cat had to do to the vet, I was late, and needed the time to catch up. Then I told the boss I had a bad feeling about Tony not showing, and then, FINALLY, I said "I just don't want to go".

Well, it's a good thing I didn't. At one point, I'm in the studio ready to go on when the phone volunteer comes in and says "A caller said the other station has been dead for five minutes". Well, at that moment, I couldn't exactly jump up and fix the problem. I was busy playing Classical DJ. So I started the classical program (Schubert's Great C Major Symphony), and ran down the hall to attend to the other station.

Here's a Good Thing. Phone rang again. It's a regular (and DEPENDABLE) classical sub who said he'd be here in 20 minutes. So yay. I caught a break.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here