Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-04-18 - 7:50 a.m.
Engineers and diamond rings

Not much to say this week--the weather his been wonderful...but...well...and I'm not COMPLAINING, mind you....but it's been kind of hot. Like, 84 degrees and humid hot. And it was what, two, three weeks ago that we had a blizzard? Freaky.

One thing I don't like is the whole "immediately turn on air conditioner to sub arctic" mindset. The only nice thing about my cube is that it has a window. A window I would like to open to allow enjoyment of fresh air while I am imprisi...er...at work. But no, that makes it too hot,(read: over 72) so we must be hermetically sealed into our workplace.

Wanted to kill the engineer again yesterday. I swear, my stomach hurts every time I see him, because it's getting to the point where every time he comes in, he fucks me over. Last night, only some clever math and specific directions to a host made it so I only had to stay a half hour after I was going to leave, instead of a full hour. He had to make one little adjustment to the .ini file of the vault, but to do so, he needed to shut it down. Fine, but it has to be back up by 5:30 when it records the show we air at 6:30. 5:30 comes, I go to check the automation, etc, etc, and find the screen is not responding to the keyboard. We have this box thingy that allows us to monitor several different computers with one monitor, and the box apparently wasn't working right. And to fix it, he had to shut down the ENTIRE system. I had slapped a backup tape for the 6:30 show into a DAT player (about a minute late, but better late than never), so I told him he had 16 minutes before BOTH stations were automated, and he better get the vault back up by then. He did, sorta...the automation didn't kick in on the one station, but I ended up getting it together.

OH. I'm sorry. That was incredibly boring, wasn't it? Well, the moral of the story is, that everything was fine until he got there....and that he makes a mess and I get to clean it up.

On the personal front....Beloved and I met with realtors at his house yesterday. They should call back with some numbers..it will be interesting to see what they come up with. When his ex sold him the house, she sold it to him for what she paid for it ten years earlier (in 1985). So he's hoping he can do ok when it sells. However, it's on a REALLY busy corner, and is a really little house. We need to do some work...electrical needs to be upgraded, garage door needs to be replaced, and the bathroom needs to be totally redone. I told him yesterday that I think we both need to take time off work and spend it working on our respective houses...mostly working on his, but I've got stuff to do if he's going to move in here. The realtor suggested that he show the house empty, so it will look bigger. That's the way to go, I'm sure, especially since the decorating and furniture (or lack of both)scream "I'm A Guy!"

So we're talking last night about this stuff, and he gives me this crap about not wanting to move in with me now because he's getting used to "the idea of not being a bachelor anymore". Or some such nonsense. I just told him I didn't want to be dealing with moving his stuff and trying to sell the house on September 15th. (The wedding is the 28th) He has a tendency to procrastinate, and we can't do that...we have so much shit to do between now and then, it's unreal.

I admit to having my own moments of freakatude when I think of him moving in. But they are moments. Of course, my mom WILL have freakatude when he moves in before the wedding, but she's going to have to deal. We need to move on his house in the spring and summer, when the market is good, because paying two house payments would be stupid.

In other bridal news, while I was at his house yesterday, the appraisal for my ring came in....it appraised about $400 more than he paid for it, AND the stone is almost twice the size I thought it was. I thought I was sporting a quarter carat ring, but it's almost half.

I don't care what it is, though, I love it and still keep looking at it...especailly in the sun. But I am glad it appraises for more than he paid for it.

Oh my. I just got really shallow. I have to go now.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here