Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-04-15 - 9:03 a.m.
Angry Callers, Wailing Children and Video Drivers

OK. So I am a little less evil than I was for my last entry. The interesting thing about the last entry is, no sooner did I finish it did the phone ring. I answered it, because I was expecting Beloved to call, and our hotline doesn't work right now. It was some woman calling to tell me how horrible and offensive she found this Saturday's This American Life. She started getting all wound up (and the interesting thing about these callers is you can HEAR the windup, and I interrupted her with "Ma'am, why don't you get in touch with the producers of the show. Here's their website". I could tell she was pissed at me, but quite frankly, I was pissed at her. Does she have a radio with no tuning knob? If I hear stuff *I* don't like. (Oh, opera, perhaps), I change the damn station and come back later. And I just didn't have it in me to deal with another negative thing. So after she and I hung up, I went into the bathroom and cried. I hate those kinds of calls. I hate that people feel compelled to make those calls. Yes. We are personally responsibly for the downfall of society because we aired a radio show about the world of pimps. We have a lot of power.

On the good side, I got a call about the fill music I played after the opera....Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. Give it a listen if you have a chance. You've heard parts of it before, in movies and such.

Went to church yesterday morning...couldn't hear a blame THING in the sermon or concentrate on the prayers because of all the wailing babies! UNreal. Beloved made the observation as we were leaving that the idea of evolution had to be wrong, because if human offspring wailed constantly like that in the jungle, humans would have all been eaten by lions long ago. And HE can usually tune kids out. I truly don't understand...the church HAS a nursery. And it's CHURCH, so it's not like the kids are going to be kidnapped or something. Why don't parents use the nursery? And quite frankly, if your kid can't be left with a sitter for an hour because of "fussing issues", the best thing would be to leave him with the sitter, let him fuss, and let him deal with the idea that he's gonna get left with people sometimes. We were discussing the issue with my parents over dinner last night, and my dad said when he was a kid (a hundred years ago, granted..), the priests pretty much required that small children be left in the crying room/nursery. I just don't understand. Church is supposed to be a time for some quiet contemplation....I don't know who can DO that when there are babies and toddlers wailing away. Personally, I think a lot of parents drag their kids everywhere for the attention it brings them...good and bad. "See me? I'm a parrruunt!" Yeah. Well shut the kid up so I can hear just who I'm supposed to be saying a prayer for, willya?

Bought a copy of Sim City 3000 over the weekend. Can't get it to work right. When I try to start it, I just get a black screen. But just when I was all set to say screwit and take it back, the game worked. I played for a little while (and quickly saw how someone could become addicted and do nothing else all weekend...), but when I went to play again, I couldn't get it to work. WTF? It worked once, so it IS possible. I refuse to believe my 6 month old computer doesn't have the right stuff to handle this win98 game. I think it might be a problem with a video driver, but I'm not sure. I may just take it back and start over.

One of the vacationers is back! Yay! Now there's some kind of safety net at work. phew.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here