Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-30 - 8:15 a.m.
But I don't know anyone in prison!

Why am I up so early on Saturday? Because the damn phone rang at 7, that's what. One of the radio stations is supposed to "do something" at 7, so the ringing phone freaked me out, thinking that someone was calling because the automation was fucked. A quick check of my bedside radio proved that, thankfully, both stations were doing what they were supposed to do.

But now I am awake. Caller ID (I love caller ID) indicated "unavailable". I wonder if it was another call from prison. I've been getting calls from a "gentleman" named "Tyrell" at the Muskegon Correctional Institution. I don't actually KNOW Tyrell, mind you. He's just calling me. I get messages on my machine asking if I want to accept the charges. This happened before, with calls from a different prison. The infuriating thing is that the phone company can't/won't do anything about it. Last time, I had to PAY them to put a "collect call block" on my line. That doesn't seem right. I'm getting calls from a fucking prisoner. I don't know anyone in prison, nor do I care to. So make it so the fucking calls can't get to me, mkay?

House is gross again. Gotta clean. Making chili and pie tonight. Beloved will be all nervous about the IU game.

It's been awhile since I had a wedding bitch. This is probably a reprise of one of my earlier "people are so rude" rants, so do with it what you will. I just posted on a weddingchannel thread about not liking etiquette experts. I was the lone dissenter, who said I love etiquette books and wish more people cared about what was proper. And it's true. It's not about arbitrary rules, it's about making things easier for EVERYONE because everyone knows what to expect. And the argument always comes up about "upper class snooty people". But you know what? My grandmother and her parents came through Ellis Island from Hungary, and MY extended family knows better than to charge "guests" for drinks at a wedding. There's no upper class snooty at work here, it's just being gracious. And people are SO lacking in grace. Did I mention the invitation my dad got to a wedding recently? Dad works with this guy at a golf shop, and got an invitation to his wedding. Addressed only to him (etiquette requires you invite spouses, engaged partners, and really, long term "serious" relationships), with the registry info IN THE INVITATION. Good lord. I know, people are thinking "what's wrong with that?" But it's wrong. It's not gracious. It sounds gift grabby. It shifts the focus from "oh, how nice, they want me to be there when they get married" to "oh. They want a gift. And they're telling me where to buy it".

I am fully confident that if people want to get us gifts for our wedding, they will. I don't need to give them directions. I've already had people ask where we are registered, and the wedding is six months away.

In other wedding news, we'll be meeting with the pastor in April some time. I am looking forward to that, since I'm anxious to learn the "rules" they have for the ceremony. I lost out on a photographer I wanted because I waited to long to try to book him. He does photjournalism style pictures, which we love. I'm all wishy washy because a coworker's daughter is a photographer, and I'm afraid of pissing him off if we don't use her. Another example of how planning a wedding is a mindfield of Instant Hole. (that's a Road Runner cartoon reference) So we are still looking, and coworker's daughter will be doing our engagement shots as soon as the flowers bloom in the park across the street.

Going to Cleveland for Easter tomorrow. That'll be fun. I love my family. And we're spending the night..woo hoo. I actually have monday off. Another woo hoo!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here