Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-16 - 11:10 a.m.
I HATE sports!

OK, I realize my last entry was about he wonderfulness of Beloved. And overall, he IS wonderful.

But I have PMS, and I hate my job, and I am very grouchy. So no one is all that wonderful to me right now.

So we're IMing, Beloved and I, and I indicate that I would like to do something "fun" this weekend, since I also have to work both days. He suggests a couple of things for TOMORROW. Well, see TODAY is the day I have a big gap of time in. I don't have to work until tonight. Tomorrow I have to work in the afternoon. So I KIND OF wanted to spend some quality time together TODAY. (and so, of course, in true typical female style, I'm mad at him for not reading my mind)

But we cannot. Because the NCAA basketball tournament is taking place.

Now, as far as faults go, being a sports nut isn't that bad. And he's not even a NUTTY sports nut. There's no face or body painting involved here. He DID miss the IU homecoming game year before last to go to my cousin's wedding. (He has season tickets)So he's not completely nuts. I mean, if I were having a baby or something, he'd drive me to the hospital. Of course, he'd listen to the game on the radio on the way, and watch it while I was in labor....

But I hate it nonetheless. I hate this culture that only lets men express emotion about sporting events. (we had words about that last week) I hate this culture that idolizes illiterate freaks of nature, and sends them to college free of charge, because they can play a stupid sport. I hate the mindset that has every sports fan (Beloved included) saying "we" when referring to "their" team. When he says "we", I usually say "gosh, honey, I didn't see you running up and down the court. I must have missed you in that forest of seven foot tall guys!" And I really hate that so many people prefer watching sports to spending time with the actual human beings in their lives.

Hmm. I feel a sports in America rant coming on.

The US is so fucked up about sports. From the time a kid (usually a boy kid) shows that he's the least little bit "gifted" at things jock like, he starts getting a bye in life. "Ohhhh, can't flunk the football star". If you're a jock, life is so much easier for you....and you DON'T DESERVE IT. (just like being beautiful, but that's a rant for another day) You don't have to pass your tests, you don't have to follow the rules, hell, sometimes you don't even have to be able to READ, yet you can get a college degree. Any wonder so many NFL players are FELONS? You spend all your life with people telling you that the rules are for other people, you start to believe it.

The jock culture and jock mentality permeate our society, and not for the better. We've brainwashed people into believing that if "their" team wins, that makes them a better person. Yeah. Whatever.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here