Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-07 - 11:12 p.m.
Damn people

I think I found my new sig line while channel surfing this evening. I stopped on an episode of "Roseanne", and the line was "I'm a good judge of people. That's why I don't like none of 'em".

Yep. Sums it up for me.

OK, there will probably be more wedding crap in this entry, so beware.

But it's mostly going to be bitching about people...only some of which is in the context of wedding crap.

So, one of the online journals I read belongs to Miss Macabre. And I'm reading her entry for today, where she's talking about how people are actually sending her nasty messages about what a terrible, negative person she is. WTF??? Here's a little clarification: These journals let people be voyeurs. I would venture that the great majority of us who are writing in these journals aren't doing it so any idiot with an opinion can send us an anonymous note to tell us what fuckups we are. Thanks, but no thanks. Yeah, for some of us, there's an ego boost when we get hits, but the bottom line is journalers do it for themselves. I put some private shit down here...those dark and bad and negative thoughts that it's not socially acceptable to spew forth in public. And I can't FATHOM the person who thinks it's ok to send notes to people telling them their personal thoughts and feelings are WRONG. Geeze.

Speaking of hits....either all my banners are used up, or everyone on diaryland took a look at my journal and hated it, and has never been back. Weird.

OK....back to hating people. I am at the same time drawn to and disgusted by the wedding web sites. What's the human nature thing that makes a person post something, ask for opinons, and then get in a royal snitfit after those opinions state that perhaps their intended action was not the most gracious/proper/whatever? "Affirm me affirm me!" You didn't affirm me? Well. HARUMPH.

Fine. Charge your guests for everything from soup to nuts, and convince yourself you're being gracious. Whatever.

Oh. And the party after a wedding? It's for the GUESTS, not the couple. If I read one more "it's your party, don't worry about your guests" post, my head WILL explode.

Yanno, one thing I like about unmoderated usnet groups is that you don't have to play nicey nice. Now, I am not, as a rule, nasty on usenet. But some of the....blunt....stuff I would say on the 'net isn't allowed in happy happy bride world.

Yes, I know I'm rambling.

This evening I fixed my vacuum. It threw a belt a couple of weeks ago. I did not know this, of course, until I took the fool thing apart and discovered the broken belt. Then I had to run out to Walgreens to buy a new one. After wrestling it on and putting the vacuum back together, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the vacuum actually does suck now. The old belt must have been so stretched out that it was slipping. Managed to get a bunch of icky cat hair vacuumed up. We registered for a new vacuum at Target...I'm kinda hoping we get it. WIth three cats, we need some kind of SuperSuck4000 model or something.

Found out today that Folkbabe won't be able to come to the wedding. She and her man will be on vacation...coming back from Hawaii. She is, however, going to design my program cover and dance cards. She is an artist of much renown around these parts, and I am honored that she offered to do this for us. The dance cards will be for the "wish dance", which we are doing instead of a money dance. (which has morphed from a tradition in many ethnic groups to a "cool, I can get money!" thing) We're going to have guests write a wish for us, or a piece of advice for us, on the card, and turn it in when it's time for the dance. I think it will make a cool keepsake.

I should be more tired and ready for bed. But I am not. But I am out of stuff to say. For now.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here