Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-06 - 8:45 a.m.
Janet's abs and bad parenting

US Society is completely screwed up when it comes to women's bodies. Yeah, yeah, I know, where have I been, right? No, I've always known this, but it was something I read in USA Today that renewed my fury about the whole thing.

Article about Janet Jackson and her fabulous abs. Now, I think Miss Janet is gorgeous (albeit surgically altered to get some of that gorgeousness....), and if the good fairy came down and offered me her body in exchange for mine, I'd take it. But the article referred to her as "formerly chubby". OK, I think there was a period of ten minutes in 1989 where she might have had an ounce of body fat, but CHUBBY? The article also talks about her dropping four sizes to a SIZE ZERO. GMAFB. A woman who is a size FOUR has no business dropping ANY sizes. Is it any wonder women in the US are completely fucked up about their bodies?

Size ZERO. What is THAT about? Oh yeah, women are supposed to take up as little space as possible, so if you get to zero, you must be a winner.

UGH.

Onto other things.....

Beloved and I went to see "We Were Soldiers" on Monday. Good flick, very graphic. In the theater with us were three preteen boys with no keeper. The graphic battle scenes were bothering me, and I'm not squeamish. What kind of fucking moron parent takes so little responsibility for their kid that they allow pre adolescents to wander a multiplex? Parents these days just piss me off. They want to nerf and stupid proof the world, but they won't take one scintilla of responsibility themselves. Can't, you know, because if they did lay down the law, Justynn and Huntyr won't like them any more....

Hey, I figure if your preteen/teen kid doesn't screm "I hate you! You don't understand me!" at least once a month, you're not doing your job as a parent. I hated my parents when I was a teen. Now, years later, I understand better why they had the rules they had, etc, and am cool with it. Mind you, they weren't psycho abusive parents, just moderately restrictive. I mean, I was, (gasp, sob)a senior who had to (sniff) ride the school bus. Ohhhhhh the humiliation.

Morning person called in sick yesterday afternoon for this morning. I am afraid I wasn't all woodgie coo with her. She's kind of a drama queen, and had een going on about how she JUST felt horrible, and she couldn't handle the stress of her life and would need time away....and I just didn't feel sympathy. And I don't like myself for that. But I can't help it...when people start bitching about how hard they are working, I want to offer them my chair. "Here. Do this for a while and then get back to me". The boss and I have been the ones in on weekends, taking calls on weekends, etc. Yes, we have all had things added to our workloads, but for J, the traffic manager, and myself, our stuff has almost DOUBLED. So cry me a river, 'kay?

And BTW, I LOVE NetDiva's disclaimer. What she said, with the added caveat that if you have figured out some of the people I am referring to in this journal, forget you've ever read about them. I want what is written and read here to stay here.

Thanks oodles!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here