Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-03-02 - 8:48 a.m.
Miscellaneous and kids at weddings

You know you're sleepy when you fall asleep with your fiance's hand on your boob, that's all I'm sayin'.....

Geeze. Head hit pillow go boom.

Cold and rainy here today. Have a girly lunch planned with friend Folkbabe. (previously identified in this journal as J....but I have another J, who is in our wedding. So to avoid confusion, J2 is now Folkbabe) I love our girly lunches--we talk and talk and TALK. She's one of the busiest people in the universe, so when we manage to schedule our lunch, it's great....and she makes me feel like she has no other place to be but sitting there, smoking cigs and listening to me prattle on about gawdknowswhat.

Then Beloved and I are going to hit Target for more registering. I figure if we do SOME KIND of wedding related thing each weekend, we should be ok.

Tomorrow, we may go to Indy to see his sister and her new baby. (well, and her husband and her old baby (the three year old) too) I don't mind pilgrimages to see babies...I kind of like babies, the newer the better.....cuz when they are new, you pretty much need to feed them and diaper them, then you can put them away for awhile.

OK--here's more wedding related talk, but this is kind of a rant....so it's not gushy.

WHAT is the deal with some parents? I'm spending too much time right now reading message boards on Wedding Channel. And a topic that has several threads is that of children at weddings. First of all, the debate usually breaks down into two camps of brides---the "I want an adult evening without children" camp, and the "Weddings are for faaaaaamilies/I can't imagine NOT having children/I'm not going to put on airs by trying to be all fancy and exclude children" camp. (and why is wanting one night of your life to be kid-free "putting on airs"?) Either camp is fine....people should do what they want....which is my point. Parents are either so rude or so cluelss that bridal couples are now being forced to be rude themselves simply to ensure that the only people at their wedding are the ones they've invited. And the SNITS that parents can throw because little Ashlunn isn't invited! My word. There are tales of formerly good friends no longer speaking to the couple simply because their kid wasn't invited to the wedding! Get a CLUE parents! Not everyone loves your kid. And even if they DO love your kid, maybe they are more aware of the kid's limitations, and don't want to tax it at a long (boring to a child) ceremony and a reception that goes late into the night. There are stores of parents WRITING IN the kids' names on the reply cards, or just bringing them anyway, after being SPECIFICALLY TOLD by bride or groom that it was going to be a kidless evening. So now brides and grooms are sending invitations that are rude in and of themselves, with statements like "NO KIDS" or "ADULT RECEPTION". (Rude because invitations are about including, not excluding) The whole problem would be non existant if parents were more clueful that if the kids' names aren't on the invitation, they need to find a sitter or decline the invitation. And decline POLITELY, not with a snotty assed attitude.

When did this all change? When did people get so RUDE? I can remember NOT going to a couple of family weddings when I was little. I WAS LITTLE...it was a late night. My parents left me behind. It's ok...I still speak to those aunts and uncles and I wasn't horribly scarred by being left out. There are some events in the world that are not appropriate for children. And a bride and groom have a RIGHT to have the guests they want at their wedding. PERIOD.

That said, because we have many out of town guests with children, we are planning to have a kids' room at the reception...that way the parents can have fun w/o worrying too much about the kids, they can check on the kids when they need to, and *I* don't have to have hyper little rugrats running around MY party. (

And with that, I stomp my dainty little bridal foot once again....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here