Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-02-18 - 12:05 a.m.
Skating weekend

Back, safe and sound from skating competition. It was ok...we got a 3rd and a 2nd. Had a team member...the oldest, at 73, fall and conk her head on the first number...she finished the number AND skated the second number. I said she was a better woman than I....an hour later, I still would have been in the traning room, bawling that "I fell down and I'm BLEEEEDING!"

I can be a baby that way.

OK, here come a child unfriendly rant, so if you can't deal, maybe you'll want to toddle on home for now, I'm sure I can come up with something better for you soon.

This was a big competition, and of course, kids were competing. The hosting venue does an AWESOME job of keeping what could be a huge, nighmarish clusterfuck down to organized chaos. But the hotel wa another matter. Look, I KNOW that kids get excited when they get to go to a competition. But Jesus in hand crafted custom Klingbeil skating boots, WHY on EARTH do they need to act like howler monkeys on crack? Seriously. What we had to endure was much more than a few excited kids piping up now and then. It was little girls running wild. From the time we checked in, shortly after 6, to the time we left for practice, shortly after 9, there was CONSTANT yelling in the halls, doors slamming so hard the rattled the picture on our wall, and galloping down the hall. AND THEIR STUPID PARENTS WERE THERE. The were absolutely no fucking manners anywhere. As an added bonus, our room was next to the elevator. At one point, I hear kids outside our door, knocking, then someone trying to get in. I was pissed. I had pretty much had it, as we were now 2 hours into the torture by children. I ripped open the door and demanded "WHAT is going on here?" As I glanced at the keycard slot, I see that some urchin was been trying to open our door with her key. Three little girls (in the 7-10 range) looked at me and one said "We're looking for her sister". "Well, she isn't in here." I said. Mumble mumble as they head down the hall.

OK...true story. When we were oh, I dunno, 7ish and 4ish, my little sister and I went with my parents on a long car trip to see our great grandmother. On the way back, we stayed at the same motel we'd stayed at on the way to MA, but in a different room. As we walked by the room from the last trip, my sister banged on the door and said something like "this was our room last time". I can remember cringing as she went to bang her chubby little fist on that door, knowing that it wasn't our room, and that you didn't go around banging on other people's doors! This seems to be a bit of knowledge that was not passed to the current generation of people.

I'm disappointed that we didn't complain to the hotel. I wish I had said something. It was as bothersome as any bunch of unruly guests, from basketball teams to bachelor parties. It was obnoxious and rude, and the parents of these kids made NO effort to shut them up. And "they're just children" isn't an excuse. If these kids are disciplined enough to learn skating routines and go to practice, they can learn manners.

And that's that name of THAT tune.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here