Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-02-02 - 1:19 p.m.
Yikes

Holy Moley. That's all I'm gonna say.

You know all that prep work I was doing? The pain and agony I was going through during the program testing phase of our new station?

It didn't prevent an eleventh hour crisis. Nope. Yesterday afternoon, around 4, I was busy freshing up macros and playlists, double checking the simulcast stuff, making sure the ducks were in a row, when I asked the engineer a question.

"I don't think Indicator 3 is working to bring the air signal from automation into (the other station's) AudioVault. What's the deal?"

"You can't do that." was the reply.

Blink. Blink. "Um. What do you mean? That's how we are doing tomorrow and Sunday morning".

"It works if the programming originates from the studio, but not if it is automation. If you wanted to simulcast automation, someone should have told me a long time ago".

Whimper.

So I did my customary crisis thing. I freaked out. Then I figured out a solution. Simply write another playlist to automate the same stuff on the other station. So instead of one automation system running stuff, we have two running the same time. I was late to our kickoff party, but I managed to make it. (and score some Boss Points, as he was pleased with my crisis management and didn't expect me to show for the social part)

I was at work just before 7, when the programming was set to begin. I left out one little command line, so the program started, but it didn't click over to automation. I changed that, and next week should be fine. In fact, other than that and a timing error, the day has gone VERY well, automation wise. I've spent a TON of time fine tuning playlists for the week, and will be in tomorrow, but I think (hope, hope) that we'll have the hang of it sooner rather than later.

Engineer came in today and said "I figured out a solution to your problem...just use those playlists on the other automation". I looked at him and said "That's what I'm doing. I figured that out last night." He answered "You're brilliant. I didn't figure it out until this morning".

He's in the studio now, with the audio board all pulled apart. We go live from that room in less than half an hour. What? Me worry?

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here