Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-26 - 8:49 a.m.
observations

Yeah, I know, more marriage related blah blah blah. But this is an interesting observation about this past week, not a bunch of blathering about finding the perfect dress and perfect flowers. (I am going to BAN the use of the word "perfect" in conjunction with my wedding!)

I was listening to the Todd Mundt show this week, when the subject was "trial marriages". Seems there is this demographic trend in which people get married in their 20s, stay married for 1-5 years, have no kids, then wind up getting divorced. Most of these people go on to marry again and have kids with the second marriage. (Beloved and I are WELL out of the 20s age range....) And the woman on the show was talking about people's different reasons for getting married that first time, or how they felt with they divorced. And one person said that when she announced her engagement, she felt like she was getting a "big gold star from society".

And I gotta say, I know exactly how she felt! People in general have been so excited for us, so supportive, etc, which is WONDERFUL and exciting, and we are appreciative for all the good wishes. But the reaction to me being engaged has been bigger than any reaction to anything I've ever done. Bigger that graduating college. Bigger than moving a thousand miles away from home for my first job. Bigger than any new job. Bigger than getting my pilot's license. It's kind of weird. It's like I'm finally feeling affirmed or something.

I'm not complaining, I'm just observing. I'm kind of enjoying the whole center of positive attention thing, quite frankly.

We went over to see my friend K and her family last night. She and her husband live out of town, and are going to a PU basketball game today, so they were in town...her folks are like my second parents, so they were excited to meet Beloved and congratulate us. It was a nice evening.

My sister is coming from SF this evening, and we'll pick her up. And surprise her. (hee)

I MUST clean this sty of a house. It is gross. The furnace guy is coming this morning....I bought a maintenence package from the company (and very worth it, here in northern IN, when the furnace breaks---if you have a mantenance agreement, you go to the head of the line to get it fixed)and they have a free tune up included. But I've been dreading having them over, because the house is so gross!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here