Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-24 - 9:37 a.m.
I'm still around

I have been spreading my good news all week...lots of people seem genuinely excited, which surprises me....I was expecting more responses out of politeness rather than real excitement.

They really like me!

Got the ring last night. More gorgeous than I remember. I just want to stare at it...it also feels weird, since I'm not used to wearing a ring. I'll get used to it!

Work is going ok. We're closing in on the automation...we have one or two problem spots...our ten o'clock show won't start on its own on a consistent basis, and we can't for the life of us figure out why. It worked on Monday, but not on Tuesday or Wednesday. Arrgh. The tone-fired break problem was solved, however....the engineer, in all his brilliance, hooked the decoder to the wrong demodulator....so it was "listening" to the wrong stuff. Only took three weeks to figure that one out.

Had a talk with the assistant GM yesterday. I was feeling annoyed about the whole volunteer situation...there is some grumbling from those who need more hand holding than I'm giving them. You know, here I am, dealing with my daily stuff, dealing with getting the automation to work on the new station, and dealing with the new magazine show (which I have NOT paid enough attention to), and volunteers are bitching because I'm not being ooey gooey enough. I DON'T HAVE TIME. The Diva was good at being ooey gooey...that's how she IS. AND, that's all she did. "How ARE you? How is your wife? BLAH BLAH BLAH". I am polite. I say please and thank you and hello. Evidently, that's not enough. So K and I were talking about this, and her perspective, along with the GM, is that I should not worry about it, I'm doing the job fine. She also made the point that I don't need to "prove" anything, and if I'm "less good" at this part of my job, well, then fine, because I'm "more good" at other parts. She DOES have a point. But it pisses me off that simply doing your job isn't enough....I'm getting graded off because I'm not good at being a sorority member, essentially. It pisses me off. I am not rude, or abusive, or nasty to volunteers. I just don't spend time small talking them, which I guess I am supposed to do. AGGGGH.

Well, time to get ready for work...gotta listen and see what happens at 10....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here