Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-19 - 5:37 p.m.
Stunned

I am engaged.

To be married.

I have a fiance.

I AM a fiancee.

I'm....I'm.....

Speechless. Stunned. I think my stomach is doing somersaults.

We had been talking about getting engaged before my sister visits from SF, as a cool surprise for her. This afternoon, we went to a local jeweler, one Beloved has known for years. Well, they just were FABULOUS to us....it was busy, but she didn't make us feel rushed as we said "oh, how about that one?" a million times. I saw a few rings that I liked, but then she pulled one out of nowhere and said "try this one". My heart started to beat faster...it was.....WEIRD. It was THE ONE. Then she priced it all out, including the wedding band (which was all of 85 bucks....I go for simple with the band), and it was a really good price. So she wrote down all the info for Beloved to think about, and we left. (One of the owners of the store will be in to see him on Monday to cut a commercial, so he was planning to talk to her about the ring we'd seen) Headed out to Home Depot to look around, then back to his house.

And there, on the sofa, with the Bears game in the background, he looked and me and said "do you want to get married?" I was unsure at first if he was being rhetorical or not! I started laughing, and he said "Hey, I'm serious!" So I said "Yes!", he brought out some Asti, and we toasted our lives together. No, it wasn't an orchestrated, hearts and flowers and poetry and surprises proposal, but it was US.

So. There we are. We sat there on the couch, both of us a little stunned by it all. The ring will arrive later this week. It will be hard for me to not tell the world before then.

We are going to tell my parents later this evening.

I still can't believe it.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here