Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-09 - 10:22 p.m.
Hummin' along

Automation issues are looking up. One mess up this morning was because I can't add. Another this afternoon was because I gave a command for 1:59 AM instead of PM. (Silly computer...didn't it know what I MEANT??) Another problem this evening, one I've been wrestling with for a few days, should be solved by adding another time command. That last one was solved (I think) because the chief engineer was equally puzzled and looked it up in the manual. So...not counting those three minor (in the great scheme of things) problems, plus the tone decoder issue (not mine to solve) we ran pretty much A-OK from 6 this morning until.....well, as of now, it's still going with the correct programming. So yay me.

The boss praised me at staph meeting this morning...that was cool. I see thing as pretty black and white...it either all works or it all sucks. He said he was pleased with what we'd accomplished, and reminded me that Edison had a bunch of failures before he finally got the lightbulb right. I feel much better about the whole thing after today. And Beloved reminded me that I'm probably the ONLY person there who can do this project. Even the engineers don't have the knowledge of the radio programming to know where to put breaks, etc. So I think Beloved is correct. Yay me again. However, once this gets working, I am going to be MORE than happy to share the knowledge, because I cannot be the only one responsible for it. No way Jose.

I'm hoping once I get stuff more under control, I can chill out a little. I'm like.....humming. I wake up at 5 and can't go back to sleep, because I start thinking about solving my work problems. And this automation stuff is only one of three areas I need to have under control....the others being the whole air staffing thing, and the daily half hour show we'll be producing. I think I have the staffing stuff under control, mostly, though we'll REALLY know our needs once both stations are running. The magazine show....yikes...I haven't even been thinking about that, although I think we've done a good job with preliminary stuff, so we''re not in bad shape.

Nothing much else going on. Gotta get up early tomorrow for skating. Ugh.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here