Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-07 - 10:43 p.m.
Busy Monday

Another BUSY day at work. More wrestling with automation, but this time it didn't pin me. Engineer fixed one big problem over the weekend which made a HUGE difference. He THOUGHT he fixed another problem, but alas, he did not, and came in this evening to "refix" it. Alas, he has only partially fixed it, and our tone decoder doesn't entirely work...it only seems to fire off 30 second promos, not the 60 second ones. We think. We won't know for sure until tomorrow.

What's a tone decoder, you ask? Well, in automated radio programs, commercials are triggered by subaudible tones...we can't hear them, but the machines can. And the decoder is what gets the message from the network to send a signal to the automation to play a local spot. In our case, they are 25hz subaudible tones, with R channel triggering 30 second breaks and L channel triggering 60 second breaks. Or vice versa. Our decoder isn't talking to our automation yet. But when it works, as it does with our existing station, it sounds AWESOME. You couldn't tell that there isn't a person there, starting the breaks manually. Except when the network fires the tone late.

I know. More than you wanted to know. But my life is not all that exciting.....

I learned something new today...how to set up AudioVault to catch recordings. Co-worker M is the recording expert, I am the play back expert when it comes to automation. So we swapped some expertise today.

The engineer did screw me royally while he was in. He turned off the AudioVault deck that was recording the show we air at 6:30. So I had to stick around and take the live feed at 6:30. Missed going to the movies with Beloved. Normally, we'd just take the live feed, but we have a local insert we stick in the show's cutaway, and there's no good way to automate that, other than recording it and editing the local part in.

By that point in my day, I was pretty much at the end of my rope. I had been working all day on automation macros, and my brain was cramping. I was getting testy earlier in the day, because my office space is like ADD central. People just walk in and start talking to you....and normally, I can work that way. But when I'm working on anything that needs concentration, like, oh, frigging automation stuff, I just can't deal with being interrupted every 90 seconds. I mean, put a space in the wrong place, and the computer grinds the programming to a halt. And my very ebullient co-worker, bless her heart, kept chattering at me all morning. It was work related, but my poor concentration was being shot to hell.

Expect a lot of yammering about radio stuff and work stuff in the next month. My brain won't shut off. I'm thinking playlists as I fall asleep, playlists as I shower....I can't wait till I get stuff figured out so that it works!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here