Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2002-01-03 - 9:15 a.m.
A little catching up

Not much to talk about lately. Back to work yesterday. It wasn't too bad. Boss thinks I am an automation hero, because our New Year's Eve programming actually worked. We are doing some program testing for the second station today, and I think he was at least minorly impressed with me as I was making some changes to the automation macros.

Job security, I think.

Beloved and I spent New Year's Eve together. But he was sick and I was sulking, so it wasn't that great. But it was nice to FINALLY spend the night at HIS house. He was so cute...he tidied up and had a cheese and meat tray for us, and some nuts. Even bought me shrimp, which I love and he hates, but it needed to thaw, so I ate it the next day.

I am getting impatient with him again, and we talked about that on the first, between football games. I told him he confuses me....one day I think he's a trip to the jeweler and a moment of inspiration away from saying "let's set a date", and the next day, he's giving me the "I just want to be sure" speech. Color me confused. As my co-worker (who has known him longer than I have) says, "What, is he waiting for a freakin' burning bush or something?!?" Yeah, I think he is. But it was a good talk, and there was no yelling, or whining, or tears. He said he understands my point of view, and he is kind of amazed that I can be so sure about it. He also had a big revelation, I think, when he said that he's so decisive and can take action in the work area of his life, but in the rest of his life, he just kind of lets stuff happen. So I'm feeling ok about things, just impatient. But anyone who knows me knows I'm impatient.

Was talking after skating practice to a teammate who is also the mother of a former teammate. Former is former because she's pregnant, and didn't want to skate while pg. Turns out, this baby has Trisomy 18. In looking at a couple of things on the 'net, I am heartsick for her. 90% of these babies die before they are a year old. I cannot imagine carrying a child I knew would be retarded, ill, and wouldn't live past a year. Cannot imagine. Dealing with all the well wishers, when I knew what was really going on? I feel so sorry for her, I really do, because I wouldn't wish something like this on anyone. Let me tell you, if I found out news like this early enough, it would be off to the clinic with me. I just couldn't deal with the suffering...mine, the family's, the child's....or the tremendous expense.

I'm just so, so sorry for her.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here