Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-12-25 - 1:26 p.m.
Late night adventure

Happy Christmas and all that. It's a lovely day here. A light dusting of snow, sunny and cold. Beloved and I snuggled in this morning, then opened our gifts, had a nice breakfast, and then went back to bed for more snuggling. He is off picking up a gift for me from his house that was too big to bring over ( or something), then he'll be back, and we'll head over to my folks' for dinner.

He gave me the boxed set of season two of Sex and the City (yay! got season one for my birthday. , as well as a little lacy thing that he says was actually a gift for him. His little face was so cute when I tried it on for him. He also got a me a beautiful necklace...unfortunately, I have kind of a big neck, so he is going to go back and get a longer one, as this one is a bit choker like. And then whatever it is he's gone to get from his house.

Last night, we drove to see his family .(oh my...controlled chaos with his sisters' kids running around) It was nice...dinner, church, presents. His parents seemed to really like what I'd bought them, which was great. (schwoo) It was good to meet his oldest sister and her family, finally.

We got in the car at about 10:15, and I sad "Please check that we're on the air". We weren't. Oh shit. What did I do wrong with automation?!?! So we decided we'd stop into the station on the way home and I'd fix things...even though we were 40 minutes away. Got to the station, and there were NO lights at all...no parking lot lights, no tower lights. That is most ungood, especially since we have a generator. So I went in to assess the situation, and almost immediately called the boss' house. (It's about 11 by now) Got his wife, who said he'd just left for the station, did I want his cell number.....so I called him and reported that we were w/o ANY power, including the generator. So he told me to call the engineer, which I did. Luckily, he answered his cell and came right in. In the meantime, boss went out and manually started the generator, but we still had no power. When the engineer arrived, we all (boss, engineer, Beloved and me) headed to the transmitter room to see what was going on. Engineer opened the breaker box, and saw that the main breaker had flipped. I was behind the group, so I was outside the room when he flipped it back....I heard BANG, saw a flash and smelled smoke. "Is everyone ok in there?!?" "Yeah". Scared me, lemme tell ya. Turns out a circuit breaker had gone bad, and shut down the main panel....the bad breaker was just...crumbled. The problem explains why the generator didn't kick on, since according to the generator's brain, there WAS power from the power company. Engineer figured a workaround and took out the bad breaker (belonging to another local radio station who leases space from us...I'm sure they are just THRILLED) and got us back on the air. Then we ran around rebooting computers and making sure things were as they should be. (The UPS backups we had did a great job on most of the stuff...but power was just down too long for some of them) We couldn't get the IDs to fire on the overnight service, but that's not a problem having to do with the power failure, but with how the macro was written. (Not by me) So we got out of there around 12:30. I still need to call a staffer to let him know, so he can be on the lookout for any weird recording related stuff tomorrow.

Freaky that something like that happened when it did. Engineer told us when I'd called him, he'd just taken an Actifed and a shot of Scotch and climbed into bed. Yikes.

I haven't listened today....I couldn't sleep last night, trying to figure out how to get the IDs to work. Argh.

So that was my Christmas eve adventure.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here