Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-12-17 - 4:47 p.m.
Stupid Listener

I swear, if I could reach through a phone and strangle some of our irate listeners when they call, I would. Absolute assholes. What kind of mindset do you have to have in order to think that you will NEVER hear anything with which you disagree? I mean geeze, there's stuff on tv/radio/in newspapers that I disagree with, oh, I dunno, every damn day!

The listener in question called regarding a commentary on All Things Considered. I only heard bits of it...it was a black woman, and she was talking about how not all black are (herself included) are not flying flags and being outwardly patriotic. Or something like that. Here's what the official network blurb was on the rundown: 5.) FLAGS -- Everybody's flying the red, white and blue, it seems, except Commentator Kathy Wilson. She says that people are profiling for patriotism ---and she doesn't like it. (3:30)

Some guy (A five hundred dollar giver who is a doctor, he was quick to point out) called, just irate about the commentary. I'm not really sure why. Was it because she was a black woman who was speaking forthrightly? Or was it because she dared say she wasn't joining the cheering section for Team USA? Or a combination? Anyway, Dr. Big Money was upset that we "allowed" this on our air. What the fuck are we supposed to do? Be lord high censor? That's only a good idea until we "censor" something HE agrees with.

So this rant sparks a couple of others for me. One, this whole flag thing. It's beginning to peeve me a bit. It reminds me too much of people rooting for a team....the flags on the cars are too similar to the number 3 decals in honor of Earnhart, or the way everyone loved the Bulls when Jordan played for them. One thing you can say about Americans....we're a bunch of front runners. If we can jump on the winning team bandwagon, we will. And I'm sorry, this flag thing seems too close to that for my comfort.

And I guess the other rant would be people in general. I mean what GALL, what CHUTZPAH, what BALLS to call us up and expect US to yell at NPR because HE was offended. Get the fuck over yourself. And why are doctors always so quick to tell us they are doctors? Guess, what? Unless I'm bleeding in the ER and you're standing over me, being a doctor doesn't make you matter one whit more than being a garbage collector.

I told ya....I gotta work on this whole "being nicer" thing. I don't think it's going to work, as long as there are so many people who piss me off.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here