Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-12-05 - 2:05 p.m.
Stunner at Staff Meeting

Staph meeting this morning started out with a surprise, to say the least. Our marketing manager was fired yesterday.

Oh, she'd been on probabtion, and there had been problems, but this....well....here we are, trying to put a new station on the air, yadda yadda....you'd think that would mean some job security. I guess not. I understand the reasons, but still...I feel bad. People don't get fired from here very much. Like, the last time was probably 12 years ago. We're not like a commercial station, or a dot com, or a Big Important Company. Working here is a lot like getting tenure at a college. She IMd me this morning, and I asked how she was doing...said she was fine and would check in with me later.

I'm just paranoid enough to worry that they are going to fire me. Now, I have no actual basis in fact for that worry, mind you. And they'd have an awful lot of 'splanin to do, regarding my reviews, which have been overwhelmingly positive....fairly GLOWING. So I'm sure I'm being paranoid. And I also have to remember that sometimes in life, when "The Worst Possible Thing" happens, it ends up being the best thing that could have happened, because then life takes another, even better, course.

I use my dad as a case in point. When he was in high school, what he wanted more than anything else was to go to West Point. My grandfather was a career Air Force officer, and my dad wanted to follow that path. Well, thanks to his lack of math skills (something he passed along to me), he didn't make it in. He was crushed and devastated and all that good stuff. All that time in prep school...and he didn't get in.

Turns out, that probably saved his life, since he would have almost for sure have been sent to VietNam....he looks up old classmates from prep school, and an amazing number of them were killed there. He wouldn't have worked at the paper, and met my mom, and had the life he's had. So what he thought was horrible, was actually good.

Anyway....the loss of V will mean her jobs will be divvied up....for some freaky reason, I am now going to be working on the web site, along with the boss. Now, I know NOTHING about webmastering. NADA. I'm proud when I can get a hyperlink to work in my journal, fer cryin' out loud. So my learning curve here is going to be fucking steep. I just told my boss--"I know nothing, but I'm willing to learn it. Just don't expect perfection right away."

So that's been my day. Now I must go back to my Excel program grids, to work on staffing needs for the two station world.

And I have an earache. I understand why babies with ear problems cry so much....damn thing HURTS!

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here