Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-11-12 - 10:52 p.m.
Tantrums and Shallow Hal

Not much to talk about today.

Work was eh. Things were a little nuts when I got there because of the plane crash. Mr. Tiny Shorts and I got into it...he was having a tantrum and I told him to knock it off. The usual. And he did his usual "I have a right to express my opinion, this is a real concern, blah blah blah" crap. Yeah, you jerk, you have a right to your opinion, but you also have the responsibility to not act like a two year old while doing it. I don't care what's happening, no rant in the workplace, out in the open in cubicle land, needs to have the word "Fuck" in it. Repeatedly. Besides which, the stuff he was ranting about is stuff that can't be changed...it just IS, like gravity. So his cheer was spread all around, and my two bosses became aware of the situation....and by the time I'd been in the office an hour, I was in tears. Not a big meltdown, just a little puddly. I don't need this crap. No one does. Big Boss is behind me 100%, which is cool. I found a copy of a page from the employee handbook regarding fire-able offenses, which include profanity and the general "doesn't play well with others" concept. Hmm. And let's just talk about all the pot TS smokes. I seem to recall another page talking about a drug free workplace. As I told big boss, I think this problem is one that's too big to be solved by me. He's got a bigger problem that's caused him grief all his life. There's no way it's going to be fixed at this point.

Rest of day uneventful...we had a staff lunch out, which we do as a thanks from the boss after fund drives. Went to a local seafood place, and the food was great. Of course, a significant splattering of sauce from my seafood pasta landed on my cream colored shirt, so I ran home afterward and changed. I need a bib.

Beloved and I went to see "Shallow Hal" tonight. It was MUCH better than I thought it would be. Gwyneth Paltrow really did a good job of showing the vulnerable and tough sides of someone who didn't fit with our standard of beauty.....and since she absolutely DOES fit our standard of beauty, I guess it shows that she has some range. Or something. Anyway, there were some tasteless jokes (It wouldn't be Farrelly Brothers without them, right?), I thought it had a good message to it. I have to say, it bothers me that the mere appearance of a fat person is reason to laugh, and hope people who see the film can see some deeper message to it. There's one scene in which Tony Robbins tells Jason Alexander's character that "we've already been brainwashed to believe only certain people are beautiful". I liked that, as well.

What an interesting concept....seeing people's "beauty" as a reflection of what's in their hearts.

And of course, the film hit me personally in some places. I actually cried a bit in on scene. And I wonder if I embarass the Beloved, or...well, just the usual crap you think when you aren't an "acceptable" size, and you see that being heavy is reason for scorn and ridicule.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here