Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-10-28 - 10:23 p.m.
Whew. What a day.

So. New computer up and running. Don't think I'm wild about XP...it's too...too....colorful and user friendly. It really seems dumbed down to me, but maybe that's because I'm used to my old setup, and I just need to get used to how things work on XP. I will say that I love the new keyboard. Nice and quiet, soft touch keys. And the computer is SO FAST compared with my old one. I can play games at pogo.com with NO problem!

I had installed a second drive in my old computer, and had some stuff backed up on it...I took it out of the old box and put it into the new one, no problem....but it was DAMN scary to be opening up the new computer and poking around in there before I'd even booted it up for the first time. I have more backup stuff on ZIP, unfortunately, I have to do some reconfiguring or something....on the old unit, the ZIP was connected by a SCSI port....but the card doesn't fit into the expansion slots on the new computer, so I need to figure something out. Any ideas? I know just enough about computers to be dangerous.

Didn't spend much time playing on the computer today, because I was once again on Beloved's roof, pounding shingles. Took us about 4-5 hours to do it. It's kind of cool when you're lining up the shingles and hammering them in, but since this roof was so small, we didn't have many good "runs", where we'd just lay down a full sheet and nail it down...there was lots of cutting and such. It looks.....ok. We should probably keep our day jobs. It's not quite finished, but the roof is now covered, and the finishing touches need to be made....a little roofing cement here, ridge caps there. Feels good to have accomplished that, and it feels good to have helped Beloved. I came home and made a pot of chili for dinner, which he appreciated. I did too...it was really good. Of course, neither of us can move now. We watched Band of Brothers, and he headed home. My poor back is SO stiff. But it was good for me, right?

My sweetie...before he left he said "thank you for being on the roof, no one else would have ever done that". I'm trying to show him I'm his partner...and if HE has a big project, WE have a big project. Just like when he helped me dig a garden this spring. I think the next big project will be undoing the enclosure of my front porch. It wasn't done very well, and while it's nice to have the privacy, and even nicer to be able to put a naughty cat out there when we're trying to eat, the enclosure really takes away from some of the charm of the house. It could be MUCH cuter. So I think we're going to work on that next spring.

UGH. Tomorrow is monday. Bleah. At least the fund drive is over...we're thinking we'll be well above the goal, which is great news. The new station goes on the air in less than one hundred days--which means I need to get cracking on staffing needs and automation macros. Woo woo.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here