Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-10-27 - 6:13 p.m.
WAAAAAAA

Sniff sniff sniff. My computer died. It is so dead that it won't even boot up to the setup. Won't recognize a boot disk. It's dead, Jim. It locked up on me this morning, and wouldn't respond to the three finger salute, then when I turned it back on, it told me it had lost the CMOS settings. OK, no biggie, this has happened before, when the battery died. I fixed the settings and pffft.....dead.

Of course, it IS a six year old AT & T computer. I refer to it as my "old wooden computer". I think it was running one version above the beta of Win95, and the main drive has been making odd noises for awhile now. So it's not like it was unexpected. I THINK I have enough stuff backed up on the D drive that I'll be able to transfer it over, plus I have a bunch of stuff backed up on zip discs.

And yes, I did go get another one. Not top of the line, but any means. Spent about 600 bucks on an HP something or other. It's in the Beloved's car right now, since I have to work tonight. The interesting thing is, this bare bones HP has way more bells, whistles and speed than my other computer....the one I paid 2k for six years ago. So it will be fun to use it. Not fun to pay for it. And no smart remarks about how I didn't need to buy a new computer when, in a few entries, I am complaining about being broke and in debt. Even Beloved, who is NOT an impulse buyer, said "well gee..not having a computer would be like not having a phone!"

I think the first few days of the new computer will be spent seeing how much I can rescue from the old one....

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here