Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-09-30 - 1:37 p.m.
Ugh. Kids

******This is an anti kid rant. If you can't deal, I suggest you move along now and come back later.******

Alrighty then.

What IS it with breeders today? They teach absolutely no respect for property. Yesterday, the neighbor's nieces were camped out in MY back yard....just sitting there, playing, picking at the trees, running through my (and other people's) yards. Last night, it was the nephews' turn...there they were, in the dark, running their stupid toy cars down MY driveway. Um. Excuse me? When did the world change? When *I* was a kid, the mantra was "if it's not yours, don't touch it, play with it, lean on it or walk through it". Now, the whole world is their fucking playground. Beloved was on his way over last night... the little vermin could have been squished, because it was dark, and it's not like Beloved EXPECTS children in my driveway.

And there was(is) NO WAY I'm going to show spine in this particular instance. Our lots in this neighborhood are a mere 1/10 of an acre....and I like the woman next door just fine....except when her nieces and nephews are over. I'm not going to start a feud over this. We live too close to each other for me to instigate hostilities. But dammit...these kids, I just....they just....BOGGLE me. I heard them out back just now. If I go to get in my car, they'll just look at me like "what are YOU doing here?" And never mind what will happen if they get in my shed and drink weed killer or something. Then it'll be my fault.

And it's really not the kids' fault...it's the fault of their parents, who instead of teaching them "No Hunter, we don't play in the plants/in the china cupboard/in the living room" have chosen to childproof their immediate environments, so their offspring learn NO limits, no impulse control, no concept of "NO". And the sproggen then just assume the rest of the world is an extension of their own homes.....safe and babyproofed, and for their enjoyment alone.

I have been called names and had cracks made because I am not going to have children. I've been called unreasonable for wanting both no smoking and no children areas in restaurants, and for wishing for adult only times for some activities, like movies. But Christ on a crutch, am I THAT unreasonable for wanting the little creatures to STAY OFF MY PROPERTY?!?! I put up with them in the grocery, in movies....every place I go these days, there's some screaming sproglet. And now my own home isn't safe. And the irony is, if I were to go out there and ask them to stay out of my yard, I would be the bad guy, the mean old childhating cat lady, who is awful and unfair and probably poisons Halloween candy.

No, I won't poison the candy, and I'm not really that mean. I just want the little creatures out of my yard.

Now. I think I'll go to Target, where I'm sure to be serenaded by any number of screeching sproglets.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here