Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-09-18 - 5:41 p.m.
Tuesday

Holy crap. What a DAY! The vibe was odd from the minute I walked into the office, and it just got weirder, until some time in the afternoon.

Lots of crankiness this morning. Mr. Tiny Shorts was at the root of much of it. He's just like a walking black aura in this place.

Oh. And here's the best part. I get to do his review first thing tomorrow morning. I spent the better part of this afternoon filling out the forms for his review and that of Morning Host. Morning Host's was comparatively easy. "You've been here a month. You're doing great." Tiny Shorts, however....yikes. I mean, after this morning, I wanted to say "I hate you and want you to leave". But that's neither constructive or very, um, appropriately supervisory. So I tempered it. I said the good stuff, then I told him that his responses to frustration "often border on insubordination, and they need to stop." I had the big boss look that over, just to make sure it was all kosher, and he liked it. So that's good. I hope I have the balls to have this conversation with TS.

So, what did he do today that pissed me off? Temper, temper. He was bitching about the phone system. We do have certain "issues" with the system. It works great for an office system, but it doesn't integrate into radio use that well. TS is bitching away, and I pointed out that there were folks from the company currently working on things in the building. "So. They need to know how horrible they are". At this point I was about to blow a vessel. I simply said in my best Do NOT fuck with me voice "TINY SHORTS". He then MOSTLY shut up, saying only "the truth hurts". Hmm. If I check the employee handbook, that looks to be insubordination. After all, I AM his supervisor. Later, the phone people killed the phones for a couple of minutes. TS marched back there and very rudely said "well, maybe you might want to tell us next time". ARGH. He shouldn't be in public. He shouldn't be allowed contact with outside vendors. He behaves like that, and the next time our phones go tits up during a fund drive, is the company going to be eager to go an extra mile to help us? Uh. No. The receptionist there will file us under "asshole" and we'll get crappy service.

So I get to have a come to Jesus meeting with him tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Not. Luckily, boss is completely behind me on it.

What else, what else? Not much. Just the usual workaday crap. Trying to find people to fill in for jazz hosts. Working on automation macros. Trying to figure out what the hell to ask the professor of Middle East Studies in my interview with her tomorrow.

At home? A mess. I should just get a freakin' dumpster and start dumping. STILL can't get rid of the damn extra couch in the living room.

Taking car in to the dealer on Saturday. Needs an oil change, plus the breaks are squeaky and the check engine light came on over the weekend. Thought it was a gas cap issue, as it has been before. That doesn't seem to be the problem, as I filled up and made sure I tightened the cap, and the light is still on. The Beloved can fetch me if need be, before noon. He is going to a college football game that's some 4 hours away. I hope the car only takes an hour or so to get fixed. The parents will be gone. My aunt is having surgery on Monday, and they are going to Massachusetts to be with her. This is a journey out of duty, not because they want to be there, and I feel sorry that they are in this position. She is my dad's sister, and she doesn't really have anyone else. It's too bad she's done nothing to nurture a relationship with any of us, and now, when she needs someone, my dad is expected to be there.

Ramble ramble. Nothing planned for tonight. Took a pound of hamburger out this morning, thinking I'd make spaghetti, but I don't know now. I get off work late enough (6:30-7) that I'm SO hungry when I go home, I just want to eat something and not cook. Besides, if I cook, I'm still eating dinner at 8:30. And I don't really like cooking.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here