Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2005-07-25 - 7:18 p.m.
Pennsylvania is still a big ass state

On the way home. Husband, bless him, stopped while we were still in PA, rather than slogging on to OH. So here we are, ensconced in a Hampton Inn, with wireless that actually works.

Yeah, that fancy schmantzy Long Island hotel had weird wireless that worked for Husband, but not for me. I was on freakin' dial up.

So we got here, went to the mall across the parking lot, where I bought some undies (didn't pack enough) and the Sims. Yes, a hundred years behind the times. Whatever. It was used and on sale.

I'm so thrilled with my little visit to the east. I noticed a welcome absence of "Deliverance People" while we were there. Where I live, there are lots of people with really low tooth to head ratios, if ya know what I mean. Smeary tats and dirty bare feet, with sticky and smudgy children. And I guess I'm a snob. Because I really liked tooling about with a "nicer" class of people.

God. I'm horrid, aren't I? But how refreshing to be in a place where I could speak my mind about politics and not be told I was going to hell.

Husband, OTOH, doesn't like to bloom where he is planted. He doesn't like full serve gas stations. (I think there's ONE in our town) He doesn't like how amenities like gas stations and fast food joints aren't visible from the interstate BEFORE you exit.

I love him, but sometimes he's really a small town boy from Indiana....

So anyway...a wonderful trip. I'm exhausted. Just. exhausted. Didn't help that the tony hotel's fire alarm rang at five in the morning TWO mornings in a row. And it was all so overwhelming. We didn't do ANYTHING but family stuff. The only "free" time we had was last night....dinner and to the hotel for the night. No sightseeing, except to see where my dad used to live.

So next trip, we fly, and we build in time for sightseeing.

Gotta go...dinner's here!

4 comments so far
LA - 2005-07-25 21:17:25
I am so glad your trip was great! Yes, welcome to the Snobbola Club. Actually, now that you've hung out in my native atmosphere you can truly understand how bad Texas was for me. Because think on this, Indiana is considered godless and too brainy for the average Texan. On your next swing out this way you'll have to give me your route. PA is a stone's throw from here. Plus our road ends near a handy exit from I-84. Don't know whick pike you're traveling on your arduous trek across The State That Never Ends, but I'm thinking re-routing you a little would get you right to my doorstep. Squeeeeee! Safe home, sweetie. ~LA
-------------------------------
radiogurl - 2005-07-25 21:37:23
Hey count me into the same snob brigade, if those things make you a snob. I've had it up to here with the unwashed and uneducated masses...
-------------------------------
Pandi - 2005-07-26 14:43:54
Ain't nothin' wrong with a bit o' liberal elitist snobbery up in these parts. ;-)
-------------------------------
Kim - 2005-07-27 14:33:33
I miss the snobbery of New England especially, but you'll still find it throughout the Northeast. Sigh. You'll hear how nice people are in other places, but with that you'll also deal with incompotent people who are nice but just totally stupid or people who are blatently fake.
-------------------------------
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here