Days In The Life

recent entry
older entries
recommend
guestbook
contact
profile

host design

I Read These: loriville
trancejen
la-the-sage
Ladyloo
pandionna
chelonia
radiogurl
marn
wistful-blue
lorster

Who ARE these people?

2001-10-26 - 7:24 p.m.
The Perfect Women

You know the type. Sorority chicks, all grown up. Junior League, Volvos, perfect smiles, perfect hair, ability to accessorize.

They make me feel like shit.

This afternoon, we had one in the studio to pitch with us. She's with the ballet, and also president of the Junior League. And as she sat there, perkily chatting, with her perfect hair, manicured nails, wonderful figure (after two children, mind you), and lovely scarf complimenting her outfit Just So, I sat on the other side of the console, growing frumpier by the minute. I've never been able to dress, so that was right out....I just sat there, feeling like a bigger and bigger blob. My hair was even more in need of a touch up and trim, my shoes even dykier, my clothes even frowsier. And the woman was perfectly nice and charming, we talked and joked and chatted....and I started to feel...just too ugly for her sight.

What IS that?! And how do the Perfect Women get to BE that way? My cousin is one of them. She hangs with other doctors' wives and people who have boats that cruise Lake Erie. How did she get to be a Perfect Woman? Did she decide one day that Perfect Woman was the goal? That she would always look perfect and be perfect and have a perfect husband, house and children? Because she does. Where was *I* when the Perfect Woman rush meetings were being held?

I just feel so.....Ethel Mertz....Mary Wickes....Thelma Ritter...the outsider who hoped she'd at least get...pity....from the Perfect Women like Grace Kelly.

Ugh. Blow to the old esteem today.

0 comments so far
Previous - Next
Last 5 entries:

If you're interested.....-2006-11-19

Four years ago.....-2006-09-28

Quick update-2006-09-09

This will be crabby-2006-08-20

collapalooza 2006-2006-08-06

a bug::design
Who Links Here